Parallels help

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by iBookG4user, Dec 7, 2006.

  1. iBookG4user macrumors 604

    iBookG4user

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #1
    I upgraded to the 3036 beta of parallels and it was working for a day but now I get this error everytime I try to start the virtual machine.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. mac-convert macrumors 6502a

    mac-convert

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Location:
    Are we there yet?
    #2
    I got that once also, but it was with win2k. I don't remember what I went through to get rid of it. Perhaps if you click ok, and depending on what happens, make sure that you have quit all instances of it on your desktop, or maybe even rebooting. I think what I had was an instance running that I had to force quit. I haven't been out to the parallels forum for a while since I had to downgrade to build 1970, but you may find something posted out there. They are a demanding and vocal group on that forum. If you don't find anything (try the search first), then post what you got here and see if anyone there has an answer.
     
  3. iBookG4user thread starter macrumors 604

    iBookG4user

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #3
    I went to the parallels forum and found this solution.
     
  4. failsafe1 macrumors 6502a

    failsafe1

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    #4
    I am installing bootcamp and Parallels right now on my new MBP. I had to reinstall Windows a couple of times. Once due to the NTFS vs. Fat 32 problem. I had to redo to get NTFS from Fat32. Then I had to reinstall the tools needed for Parallel use. Keep at it. It seems like trouble but it is worth it. I finally got it to work after several tries. I have one problem if anyone can help. With Parallels and Bootcamp installed I don't seem to have keyboard support when I boot into Windows using the option key. After holding the option key for Windows I have two options. One for Parallels and one for Windows. I can't choose either from the MBP keyboard. I have to plug in an external. Any ideas?
     
  5. mac-convert macrumors 6502a

    mac-convert

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Location:
    Are we there yet?
    #5
    Hey, thanks for looking that up. I remember now a message I got about locked files, do I want to continue, ignore them, blah blah, and I clicked through it. My mini had not gone to sleep, but I was probably running quite a lot of apps trying to test out Parallels. This probably contributed to the instability that I had. Maybe I will go back out there this weekend and give it another shot. Thanks again!
     
  6. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #6
    in order for the beta to work, does bootcamp need to be installed on ntfs or whatever and not fat32? if so, is there an easier way to convert this as opposed to reinstalling bootbcamp?
     
  7. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #7
    Doesn't this discussion belong in Windows on Mac?

    Anyhow....

    Windows has various ways to convert FAT32 to NTFS, but I don't know if they'll work with Boot Camp due to the non-PC-standard GUID/MBR partitions.

    Option 1) CONVERT C: from the Command Prompt
    Option 2) Navigate to the Disk Management section of the Computer Management tool. Select the partition. Right click and select convert to NTFS.

    In either case the conversion will actually take place on the next reboot.

    B
     
  8. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #8
    will i have to reinstall applications? also whats different about ntfs from fat32 jw?

    thanks

    sorry if i kinda hijacked the thread didnt mean to
     

Share This Page