Parallels Install with Bootcamp

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by wayne905, Dec 18, 2012.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Location:
    Maple, Ontario, Canada
    #1
    Forgive me if this question has already been asked...but I'm kind of a newbie to to Mac running Windows arena. I'm doing some homework at work in preparation of installing Bootcamp and Parallels when I get home tonight, and want to make sure I install it correctly. I'm installing Win 7 Home Premium 64 bit on my new i7 2012 imac. I want to be able to run Win 7 in Bootcamp when I play games, and run Parallels when I just want to jump over to Win 7 while in OS X and not reboot into Bootcamp (say for example to run Quicken).

    So if I understand this correctly, I should install Bootcamp first, then once Win 7 is installed on Bootcamp I then install Parallels...is that right?

    If the above is correct, I see from Parallels website that I will be faced with 2 options for install: Option A: Set parallels desktop to run windows from the Bootcamp partition or Option B: Import Windows and your data from BC into parallels desktop. I assume I want Option A...is that correct?

    Thanks for any assistance you can provide :)
     
  2. macrumors 65816

    designs216

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Location:
    Down the rabbit hole
    #2
    The configuration that made the most sense to me was to tell Parallels to run Windows from the Bootcamp partition. That's how I set mine up. My thinking was that if I decide to get rid of Parallels in the future, my Bootcamp partition will still be intact.
     
  3. macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    #3
    Yup.

    Yup. Otherwise the imported VM will diverge from your Bootcamp install.

    That would be true for option B as well.
     
  4. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Location:
    Maple, Ontario, Canada
    #4



    Thanks to you both. I installed it last night without any problem. I was worried that the Option B might possibly require a second Windows 7 license, which i wasn't keen on buying a new one (if it was indeed required)...so I chose Option A...this way I knew I'd be saife with 1 license and besides any change I make on the bootcamp side would be reflected on the Parallels side - which is great. Thanks again for your help.
     

Share This Page