Parallels OK for my needs?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by extraextra, Mar 10, 2007.

  1. extraextra macrumors 68000

    extraextra

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Location:
    California
    #1
    All I need to do is run Paintshop Pro 8 (VERY light photo editing - just resize, brighten, sharpen) and maybe offload a few small videos from my digital camera (my digi cam's videos don't work on the Mac for some reason). Parallels is ok for this stuff, right? People say it's not good for CPU intensive stuff/graphics and I don't know if what I've listed above qualifies or not.

    Thanks in advance!
     
  2. Cult Follower macrumors 6502a

    Cult Follower

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Location:
    North Dakota
    #2
    For you it should work, but why not boot camp?
     
  3. slicedbread macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    #3
    I think when people say its not good for graphics, they mean 3d gaming and DirectX etc.

    For stuff like PSP and light video editing, I see parallels as a much better solution than having to reboot into BC for that sort of use.
     
  4. rogersmj macrumors 68020

    rogersmj

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN
    #4
    Same reason I don't use Boot Camp -- it's damned inconvenient. Who wants to reboot their computer every time they need to use a Windows app?
     
  5. extraextra thread starter macrumors 68000

    extraextra

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Location:
    California
    #5
    I don't want to reboot. I could do Boot Camp and then run it through Parallels so I wouldn't have to reboot, but I'm probably not going to upgrade to Tiger for awhile. In the end Boot Camp would cost me $30 or so.

    Thank you for the help!
     
  6. biturbomunkie macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2006
    Location:
    cali
    #6
    it should be fine in terms of speed. i tried cs2 with parallels 3188 and it was actually quite fast (comparable and at times faster than cs2 on mactels) until the allocated memory ran out and the guest os started to use the hdd to swap files. but you can always allocate more ram if you gonna do any memory-intensive work.

    however, i'd use the trial version first before buying. parallels' usb support is still limited so i'm not sure if it will work with your camera. an alternative, vmware fusion, fully supports usb. but i heard fusion is still quite buggy and it's slower since it's in debug mode.
     
  7. psychofreak Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #7
    I have both Parallels and VMWare Fusion running on my macbook here. USB support is perfect on both, and Parallels is faster...
     
  8. slicedbread macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    #8
    I agree that parallels is faster at the moment (rel. 3188 vs fusion beta 2), but for USB support I find VMware to be more reliable and less buggy.
     
  9. psychofreak Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #9
    All I mean is that I have plugged in a few devices (camera, printer, some USB toy thing for my sister) and they have all worked flawlessly on both Parallels and Fusion...
     
  10. biturbomunkie macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2006
    Location:
    cali
    #10
    glad to know usb works out for ya. i can't wait to update my phone under parallels. but at the same time parallels' official support on usb is "p n' p almost any device," and i'm afraid something might screw up and then my phone would be left in coma...

    that's what i said!! ;)
     
  11. grafikat macrumors 6502a

    grafikat

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2003
    #11
    I'm running Parallels on my MB, and it handles light graphic editing programs just fine.
     
  12. extraextra thread starter macrumors 68000

    extraextra

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Location:
    California

Share This Page