Parallels on 2012 Air 13" i7 with 8GB... XP or 7?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by majordude, Jun 20, 2012.

  1. majordude, Jun 20, 2012
    Last edited: Jun 20, 2012

    macrumors 68020

    majordude

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Location:
    Hootersville
    #1
    I need Windows for some basic stuff. I don't use it often but I do need it.

    Should I install XP or Windows 7? XP is 32 bit and uses less memory so I am leaning that way.

    Any thoughts?

    Also, is it possible to install Windows on one Mac and transfer the virtual "disk" to another Mac and have Parallels open it? That will save me from having to do a zillion updates.
     
  2. macrumors member

    LeGacY X

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Location:
    VA, USA
    #2
    I would go with windows 7 it runs great in Parallels in my experience. ;)
     
  3. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    #3
    Get on with the times and get Win7, a lot of the stuff is no longer supported on Win XP
     
  4. thread starter macrumors 68020

    majordude

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Location:
    Hootersville
    #4
    But Windows 7 is 64 bit and will use more cores, no? And more memory?
     
  5. macrumors 604

    ZBoater

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Location:
    Sunny Florida
    #5
    I use Windows 7 32-bit. Works great for my needs.
     
  6. macrumors 65816

    Cliff3

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    #6
    It will only use as many cores as you allocate, but Win7x86 has a 1GB memory requirement while Win7x64 is 2GB. I will be running Win7x64, WinXPx86 and CentOS on my machine (under VMWare) once I get the VMs copied over from the old machine. There are a couple of legacy applications I use that won't run under Win7 so I can't get rid of XP yet.
     
  7. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Location:
    Coquitlam, BC
    #7
    What doesn't run on XP?
     
  8. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    #8
    Windows 8
     
  9. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2012
    #9
    Windows 7 Home 64-bit
     
  10. macrumors 6502a

    christophermdia

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    #10
    I use windows 7 normally, which runs amazing...I use Windows 8 just for fun....that runs great too
     
  11. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    #11
    Yes. I used to do that all the time when I used parallels (for some work apps I no longer need to use). It worked great.
     
  12. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    Location:
    Singapore
    #12
    I use Parallels with XP for basic stuff - Quicken and the occasional program that is not available on OSX. XP takes a lot less disk space. If you don't need all the Win 7 features and your use is basic, stick with XP.
     
  13. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2007
    #13
    Windows XP can be used?? I thought Windows 7 had to be used??
     
  14. macrumors 604

    ZBoater

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Location:
    Sunny Florida
    #14
    You can use DOS you want to...

    [​IMG]
     
  15. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2007
    #15
    10 Perfect.
    20 I have an old unopened copy of XP laying around somewhere.
    30 I'd rather not buy Windows 7 unless I have to.
    40 But in case I do, what's the cheapest Win 7 out there?
    50 Thanks.
     
  16. thread starter macrumors 68020

    majordude

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Location:
    Hootersville
    #16
    That's Boot Camp you are thinking about. You have to use Windows 7 with Lion's Boot Camp.

    You can use anything you want with Parallels or VMware Fusion (I like Parallels better).
     
  17. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2007
    #17
    Ahh, okay. Thanks!
     
  18. macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Location:
    Melbourne
    #18
    I have installed Win 7 on a bootcamp partition, but I think I'm gonna dump it and switch to Parallels instead. I don't do enough in Windows to justify an entire partition.
     
  19. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2007
    #19
    Wait... does this mean that Bootcamp requires a partition for Windows but Parallels does not?
     
  20. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2012
    #20
    How do you install Windows on a MacBook Air? I thought BootCamp required an installation disk? Do you have to use the remote disc feature or is there another way to do it?
     
  21. macrumors 604

    ZBoater

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Location:
    Sunny Florida
    #21
    An ISO image and a USB stick.

    ----------

    Correct. You can create a virtual machine which is just a file on your hard drive.

    Or you can ask Parallels to run your copy of Windows that's on the Bootcamp partition inside a VM.

    I do both, boot native into Windows for maximum performance, and run that same copy of Windows as a VM inside Mac OS X using Parallels for when I'm using regular productivity apps (like Quicken or Word) that are not graphically intensive (like games). This setup gives you the best of both worlds, but you do need to set aside a Bootcamp partition.

    If you do not need to boot natively into Windows (that is Windows being the only OS running), then you can just go the VM route and skip Bootcamp.
     
  22. macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    #22
    With 8GB on the Air, I'd go with 64-bit. It runs fine with even 1.5GB allocated, and you could give it 4GB if you want and still have 4GB left for OS X.
     
  23. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2012
    #23
    Win 8

    If you install windows 7 with an ISO through parallels and then upgrade to windows 8 (for $14 if you fill out this form by Feb 28 - http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/windows/upgrade-offer - be honest!).. then it doesn't seem to require the Win 7 key (assuming you bought it but can't find it). Just stay away from windows update stuff and adding apps or it will ask you to authenticate with the win 7 key.
     
  24. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    #24
    I have an Air with 8gb of ram. I installed Windows 7 64-bit via Parallels and allocated 2gb of ram. It runs windows very well for the windows-only programs I use. In my opinion, the Air runs both OS's very well simultaneously with 8gb of ram.
     
  25. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    #25
    I had the same concerns when I first got parallels for my Mac. I use windows 7 64bit on a 2009 mbp with 6gb of ram and it runs great. I would definitely use windows 7 over xp.
     

Share This Page