Parallels on Macbook Air

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by foltzie, Feb 27, 2008.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2006
    #1
    I'm considering a Macbook Air.

    I would be using it as my primary machine and retire my iMac 17inch.

    Has anyone ran Parallels (Windows XP), how does it run?

    Thanks,
     
  2. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    #2
    YEPP!!! I run it and I enjoy it!!! No problems with speed and I can economize my money and not to repay for alternative progs which I have already bought licenses for PC... Have you already bought parallels? If you haven't do it yet, I may advise you a good offer :) Because I use it too!!
     
  3. MRU
    macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #3
    Yep run it here too. No problems what so ever.
     
  4. macrumors regular

    user13

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    #4
    I use Parallels Desktop every day and it suits me. Everything works pretty fast. I use Parallels mainly for office apps. Windows works perfectly well
     
  5. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    #5
    I use it too for stuff like Access...It works great.
     
  6. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Location:
    Almere / Netherlands
    #6
    parallels and specifications of your MBA

    Some replied positively on the question whether parallels runs smoothly on the air. Not all however indicated the specifications of their MBA

    As I was actually phoned today that an MBA is reserved and waiting for me (1.6/80HD), and I too plan to install parallels (/ XP) and use it with Access applications, I am curious to know which specifications your MBAs have ; also 1.6 80 HD ? or other?

    Please can you input ASAP as I am forced to decide to buy or let it go by tomorrow

    THX
     
  7. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2006
    Location:
    London, UK
    #7
    Parallels runs well here on a 1.8 SSD. Afraid I can't comment on the lower spec.
     
  8. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #8
    I just re-installed it on my new Air. It's quite speedy, especially with the SSD model.
     
  9. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Location:
    Tampa FL
    #9
    I use it all the time on my 1.6/80 to access my companies VPN (mo Mac support).

    My XP image which includes Office etc, is about 6GB so it's not too big to keep on the 80GB HDD.
     
  10. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    #10
    I'm using VM Fusion with Windows XP.

    It runs great.
     
  11. macrumors regular

    user13

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    #11
    I run Parallels not on MacBookAir - I think I didn't read the first post attentively.
    I used to run Parallels with 1 gig of Ram until I upgraded and even then it worked pretty fast. Access applications work fine in Parallels too
     
  12. macrumors regular

    ddd269

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Location:
    Torrance, CA
    #12
    Parallels works great with the MBA (1.6 80gb)

    I've used it for about 3 weeks with xp. No problems so far.

    The only thing I can notice is the display not being very smooth, when scrolling. I guess I can make it smoother if I allocate a bit more resource to Parallels, but it works well enough for me to not tinker with it. Other than that, it's perfect.

    I have to use Parallels because some international sites I frequent only works with IE... Otherwise, the the site displays erratically with Firefox and Safari. :(
     
  13. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    #13
    how much space did parallels and winXP take up?
     
  14. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    #14
    I hope this isn't too far off topic - I have a MBA on order (1.6 HDD) and bought Parallels.

    Being a Mac guy it just kills me to have to purchase a Microsoft OS, but like some have noted, there are just some web sites that require IE on a peecee. 1) Should I go for XP or Vista; and 2) Where is the best place to obtain this for low cost? Used on EBay?
     
  15. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    #15
    I've tried both XP and Vista using VMWare Fusion on MBA, and the choice is a no-brainer.

    Definitely XP. Vista needs at least 2gb of RAM for itself to run smoothly. So, virtualization is not an option for Vista on MBA because both OS X and Vista nee a lot of memory to run smoothly. So, unless you're planning to run Vista on bootcamp, don't buy Vista. XP runs great on VMWare Fusion. I use XP all day at office with 8-10 applications open at the same time. No issues at all.
     
  16. macrumors 6502a

    BryanLyle

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    #16
    When you create the virtual machine, you can specify how big you want it to be.
     
  17. macrumors 6502a

    cohibadad

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    #17
    agreed. runs great. I wouldn't expect 3D to be very speedy though I haven't tried it on the MBA. It was a dog when I tried it on my iMac 2.8 but I heard it has improved.
     
  18. macrumors regular

    ddd269

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Location:
    Torrance, CA
    #18

    Just like the other posts... XP is the answer. The best place to get it would be a site that sell OEM package Windows. These are not the retail packaged versions and was meant to be sold with new computers/manufacturers at a discounted price. Even if you get the retail version, make sure you don't get an "upgrade" version, because it will not install unless you have a previous version of Windows and the Parallels and VM Fusion need XP with service pack 2... I think. Regardless, make sure you get the full version.

    newegg.com is a good place to get these, but most computer sites carry these OEM Windows.
     
  19. macrumors demi-god

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Location:
    Virginia Beach
    #19
    FWIW, only Boot Camp requires XP SP2.

    Fusion and Parallels should be able to install dang near any version of any Intel OS! :)
     
  20. macrumors regular

    ddd269

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Location:
    Torrance, CA
    #20
    You're right... It was bootcamp that I was thinking about. :eek:
     
  21. MRU
    macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #21

    Just the stock 1.6 / 80GB HDD :)
     
  22. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    #22
    Please do not use Parallels on the Macbook Air. It keeps crashing. There are already some discussions about this on the Parallels forum. I have just bought the Macbook air and is very frustrated because Parallels keep crashing with increasing frequency with my MBA.
     
  23. MRU
    macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #23
    Hasn't crashed on mine. :confused:
     
  24. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    #24
  25. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    #25
    I had a Dell XPS / M1210 about 9 months old and purchased a MBA 1.6 / 80.

    I first installed bootcamp along with Win XP and made sure it ran properly. I installed all of the Microsoft Office 2003 suite. I made sure it operated fine and then I did all of the upgrades to both Win XP and Office.
    After all of that I installed Parallel as a VM and it works fine with no crashes etc.
     

Share This Page