Parallels on my old G5?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by hostage46, Jun 11, 2009.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    #1
    So the old girl runs just fine, dusted her off, updated the OS. I did the trial of Enrourage and is was OK, but I'm thinking of a going the parallels route...and just installing office on the Mac....

    Model Name: Power Mac G5
    Model Identifier: PowerMac7,2
    Processor Name: PowerPC 970 (2.2)
    Processor Speed: 1.6 GHz
    Number Of CPUs: 1
    L2 Cache (per CPU): 512 KB
    Memory: 1.25 GB
    Bus Speed: 800 MHz
    Boot ROM Version: 5.1.5f2

    Any reason not to press on and go for it?

    Dan in Dallas...
     
  2. macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #2
    need intel

    no way around it

    theres virtual pc but the performance is so poor its stupid to even try
     
  3. Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Missouri
    #3
    You only optional is Virtual PC, but that is slow.
     
  4. macrumors 604

    iShater

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    #4
    I don't think VPC even works on the G5, unless MS did an update to it.
     
  5. macrumors 603

    gr8tfly

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    ~119W 34N
    #5
    You would need Virtual PC, which is an emulator (it has to translate the Intel instruction set to PPC). It would work, but it would not be a great solution for everyday Office use. If OS-X Entourage worked at all for you, stick with that.
     
  6. macrumors demi-god

    xraydoc

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Location:
    192.168.1.1
    #6
    Virtual PC does work on the G5 with the latest/last version that was available, but had some issues with OS X 10.5.x - if memory serves, I think it was an issue with the optical drive not working. The work around was to use an ISO disc image instead of the actual optical drive.
     
  7. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    #7
    I use Virtual PC on my faithful G5 (dual 2.5GHz) and it absolutely crawls - can't even run anything demanding at all, and most things it can run are well below acceptable speed for work use. It's useful for the odd task and opening otherwise useless files to convert but I'd never recommend it as a viable alternative option to an office package running natively on your machine.

    If it's just Office go with a proper Mac version (I have Microsoft Office v.X which is ancient but I've yet to need to upgrade enough to do so) or one of the OpenOffice/NeoOffice options, you'll go crazy doing that kind of thing in VPC.

    Parallels as mentioned is for Intel machines only. The performance gap between Parallels on an Intel machine and Virtual PC on an old Mac is worlds apart, unfortunately. That doesn't mean that your G5 can't earn its keep using traditional OSX applications though.
     
  8. macrumors 604

    iShater

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    #8
    At this point I would recommend getting a used-mini, it will probably have more power than that G5 :eek:
     
  9. macrumors demi-god

    Spanky Deluxe

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    London, UK
    #9
    It would definitely be more powerful than the G5. Even the original 1.5GHz Core Solo would be faster unless running a legacy PowerPC app.
     
  10. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Location:
    Elkridge, Maryland; USA
    #10
    For the record, all of the Intel chips used in Macs has Intel's VT technologies, meaning the chip itself supports virtualization. Doing it at the chip-level in place of at the software level (as the earliest versions of VMware did) gives modern hypervisor-based systems (including Fusion and Parallels) the speed that we all enjoy.

    PowerPC chips did/do not support virtualization at the chip level. And, even if they did, you would be trying to run Windows within the VM which does not run on a PowerPC ISA so you would need emulation/conversation anyway.
     
  11. macrumors 65816

    300D

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Location:
    Tulsa
    #11
    VPC crawls. Even my Dual core 2.3 can only muster enough power to emulate performance of a 500mhz PentiumIII. A single 1.6 would be lucky to make equivalent of 300mhz.
     
  12. macrumors 604

    MacsRgr8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #12
    Yeah. I have Virtual PC 7.0.1 running on a Quad G5 with 4 GB RAM, and TBO Windows 2000 Pro is the last Windows OS you can run decently.
     

Share This Page