Parallels Question With MCE 2005 OEM

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Alan_Arkin, Feb 1, 2007.

  1. Alan_Arkin macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    #1
    Hi... so I have the latest version of Parallels for my Core Duo 2.16 mhz MBP. I recently purchased from Tiger Direct a copy of MCE 2005 OEM. It comes with 3 CDs -- the first 2 are the MCE installations disc and a 3rd disc that is labelled something like MCE 2005 Updates. I don't believe the 3rd disc is the SP2 CD.

    Anyway, when I try to install windows, it asks me to put in the first 2 CDs and then the Windows Service Pack 2 CD. It doesn't recognize the 3rd CD as the SP2 CD. Eventually, the installation ends and Windows is installed, though it doesn't include any of the programs like Internet Explorer, or WMP, etc.

    What am I doing wrong?
     
  2. Fleetwood Mac macrumors 65816

    Fleetwood Mac

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Location:
    Canada
    #2
    I don't know anything about MCE. That said, you can get updates from windowsupdate.com and download IE7/WMP from microsoft.com if you Windows instance is functioning properly. (explorer can open websites can't it?)
     
  3. Alan_Arkin thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    #3
    No... windows update actually doesn't work when I click it.
     
  4. Fleetwood Mac macrumors 65816

    Fleetwood Mac

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Location:
    Canada
    #4

Share This Page