Parallels Released

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by B-Line, Jun 15, 2006.

  1. B-Line macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    #1
    Just some news... parallels has now been released:)
     
  2. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #2
    Thanks for that, over to download my full copy :)
     
  3. B-Line thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    #3
    Its nice that parallels has extended their promotional price. But wasn't it cheaper before. My bill was for around $46 CAN. Does anyone know if the promotional price has increased?
     
  4. plinden macrumors 68040

    plinden

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    #4
    The pre-order price was US$40, and now that it is GA, they have a promo price of US$50 until the middle of July, when it'll be the full price of US$80. Parallels announced a couple of weeks ago that this is what they would be doing, so they didn't do this without warning.

    Despite a couple of USB-related issues and lack of Parallels Tools for Linux (not all of us need or want to run WinXP), $50 and even $80 is still inexpensive for this software.
     
  5. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #5
    Yeah I hope they release a parallels tools for linux, it would really improve my ubuntu experience.

    I think parallels is a great product and wouldnt be surprised if Apple buy them out - much like Microsoft did with VPC. They have a habit of doing that with really great software (logic ect...)
     
  6. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #6
    Now that it's GA, I can finally try it! Planning to run an old Win2K license in it and keep XP for Boot Camp.

    B
     
  7. plinden macrumors 68040

    plinden

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    #7
    I have set up vncserver to run as a service at 1440x900 resolution on booting the Linux VMs, with the lines:
    Code:
    # Uncomment the following two lines for normal desktop:
    unset SESSION_MANAGER
    exec /etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc
    
    uncommented in ~/.vnc/xstartup. And I connect to it using ChickenOfTheVNC. This gives me a full screen Linux desktop. I still have difficulty mounting my OS X directories though.
     
  8. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #8
    Yeah I got it to support my full res by editing the xorg.conf

    Biggest problem is maybe with so many different versions of linux it would be hard to get a working toolset with all the linux flavours.
     
  9. Schmittroth macrumors regular

    Schmittroth

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2003
    Location:
    NYC, Astoria-Queens
    #9
    Has anyone tried running any games on it yet? Have they resolved their video card issues?
     
  10. charlestrippy macrumors 6502

    charlestrippy

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Location:
    Tampa, Florida
    #10
    is there a "right click" or a ctrl click in parallels? .... or am i just a moron? im probably just a moron....

    please help, heh :confused:
     
  11. plinden macrumors 68040

    plinden

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    #11
    Shift-ctrl-click.
    Ctrl-click is used for some operations in Windows applications, so they modified this.

    You might also want to go to the hidden Parallels support forum for Parallels related questions.
     
  12. charlestrippy macrumors 6502

    charlestrippy

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Location:
    Tampa, Florida
    #12

    haha damn, once again, philden to thre rescue! hah thanks again, dude
     
  13. aleni macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    #13
    i pre-ordered and got my serial key back while ago.

    just downloaded the final release of parallels, and i dont have any idea how to update from RC2 to this final release.

    do i have to uninstall first? if i do, will parallels keep my current Guest OS?
     
  14. sjshaw macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    #14
    Just run the installer and it will upgrade RC2. It will keep all your Guest OSes and settings.
     
  15. aleni macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
  16. deltrotter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    #16
    Would be good to hear you guys experiences of using this software. From installation onwards.

    Cheers

    Del
     
  17. teerexx52 macrumors 68000

    teerexx52

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    Location:
    Florida West Coast
    #17
    I installed it yesterday for the first time. The installation was straight forward and easy to do. Everything worked fine from the start. One problem I have seen is when I connect and external usb hard drive or flash drive it says it is looking for high speed usb 2.0 ports that it can't find so I am assuming that I am operating ay USB 1.1 speeds with my external drive. I plan on sending them an email to see if this is correct and if they have plans to address the issue. If anyone has any specific questions please ask and I'll try to answer them. I am no tech just a basic computer user.
     
  18. aleni macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    #18

    I upgraded from RC2 to the final release this morning. followed an advise from sjshaw.

    the installation went straight smooth. my previous Guest OS with the previous parallels build was running perfectly. So, no need to reinstall the previous Guest OS, incase its linux or windows xp.

    i haven't been experiencing any troubles running windows xp from parallels since the first time i used this awesome app. (RC2 build).

    guess my money is worth spent. $39! when i pre-ordered it. heard parallels increase the price just right now.
     
  19. deltrotter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    #19
    Thanks guys

    I only need to run two programs in XP. Access and MS SQL Enterprise Manager.

    Don't ask - I need 'em!

    Cheers

    Del
     
  20. aleni macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    #20
    oh well. then it should be easy enough for parallels to handle those jobs.

    im using parallels for my stock inventory app which my business really counts on this.

    using parallels, i didnt get any noticable performance hits. maybe its running 10% less speed than bootcamp.
     
  21. Haoshiro macrumors 68000

    Haoshiro

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2006
    Location:
    USA, KS
    #21
    Anyone else have anything to say about performance? I didn't try Parallels because I wanted to wait for the final release. I had tried things like Qemu, etc and performance was not good, I know virtualization is quite different but would still like to know what it runs like.

    Also, I've heard Leopard was going to include virtualization software when it is released... is this just a rumor or a confirmed new feature?

    Thanks!
     
  22. aleni macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    #22
    the final version has been released. u might want to try it yourself.

    if u are running a desktop application like office. it would be just as fast as using pc. but dont expect to run 3d games on it.
     
  23. Haoshiro macrumors 68000

    Haoshiro

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2006
    Location:
    USA, KS
    #23
    Actually I am most interested in good access to Internet Explorer, honestly. I'm a web developer and would love an easy way to test on every browser.

    Anyone know if this will work with Vista? I'll probably dual boot anyway, but if I am not playing a windows game i'd prefer to just launch a virtual desktop...
     
  24. balahir macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2006
    Location:
    Sweden
    #24
    It does not work with Vista. Parallels state that they will add support for Vista when it is officially released.
     
  25. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #25
    Err it is officially released, BUT! Vista support will be added in a future upgrade. Whilst Vista is still beta, i imagine they wont support it.
     

Share This Page