Parallels Screenshot.

Discussion in 'Picture Gallery' started by daneoni, Dec 27, 2006.

  1. macrumors G4

    daneoni

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    #1
    So i finally got around to trying out parallels and i have to say its better than i expected. It VERY fast for a virtual machine. Even did some analysis and the results....well look below. You need 2GB to somewhat comfortably use this....4GB preferred.

    However it still needs work. USB devices such as thumb drives and iPods aren't recognised due to conflicts with OS X and no gaming. Overall i prefer it to Bootcamp simply because i don't have to restart everytime, i can switch/transfer files between OSX/XP seamlessly, keyboard layout is preserved which can be a problem as i still dunno how to get the 3 finger salute (Ctrl-Alt-Del) and i get my backlit keyboard function . Whats not to like?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2006
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #2
    I installed it this weekend and am very impressed as well. I am running Win2k and Fedora Core 6 on a macbook. I have 1 gig of memory and both linux and windows run great.
     
  3. macrumors 601

    ITASOR

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Location:
    Oneida, NY
    #3
    I use Parallels with 1.25GB RAM and it works fine. I was using it with 512MB RAM, but that was kind of slow, but still useable. It's a great application!

    I really wish flash drives were supported, as you said, the unmounting in OS X and trying it in Parallels doesn't work. OS X finds it again and Parallels says it's already being used. I haven't tried my external HD yet, but I'm guessing the same thing will happen!
     
  4. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    #4
    Thanks for the pics. I'm looking to try this as soon as it will work with my existing BC partition-- as it stands, it won't for some reason.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors G4

    daneoni

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    #5
    Yeah i tried but it wouldn't work so i just started from scratch and cloned my BC partition into parallels (manually) and then deleted the BC partition.
     

Share This Page