Parallels slow me down?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by ctznpark, Dec 12, 2006.

  1. ctznpark macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    #1
    How slow will my iMac(2.0GHZ, 2GB RAM) run windows programs like AutoCad or 3d modeling programs in parallels? Or how's the response when running demanding program? Any input would be helpful thanks!
     
  2. ChrisA macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Location:
    Redondo Beach, California
    #2
    It will run as if it were on a 2Ghz, 2GB PC with a way-cheap graphic card.
     
  3. Nym macrumors 6502a

    Nym

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Location:
    Porto, Portugal
    #3
    Isn't Parallels supposed to NOT run 3D based applications or anything with Direct 3D in it? Don't know if it's the case but... I always thought that 3D modelling, animation, etc are not supported (as of now) by the Parallels VM.
     
  4. Irish Dave macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Location:
    The Emerald Isle
    #4
    You are not wrong there my friend.

    Dave :)
     
  5. Yoda47 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Location:
    MI, USA
    #5
    Well, technically you can't dedicate ALL of the available ram to the VM.....
     
  6. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #6
    That was my understanding.
     

Share This Page