Parallels Takes over my Airport?!?!

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by TraceyS/FL, Mar 7, 2007.

  1. TraceyS/FL macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Location:
    North Central Florida
    #1
    OK, well, that was a fun hour. I'm finally back online - after uninstalling parallels. Good thing i hadn't emptied the trash and had the dmg in there to do it.

    When I launch Parallels, i have major wireless issues - when I go to the Network Preferences, it flashes that "airport is on but not connected to the internet" and sometimes "Airport does not have an IP address and cannot connect to the internet".

    The 2 parallels things are green and supposedly connected - despite trying to turn off networking in it, and it having been quit.

    I have no clue where to look to "fix" this problem - but i have to be able to get online on the Mac Side.

    :confused:
    Tracey... who shouldn't do this on a day she has a sinus issue. UGH.
     
  2. netdog macrumors 603

    netdog

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #2
    The support forum at parallels.com is truly excellent. Ask there and you will have it sorted within an hour with little or no stress. The users there are very good.
     
  3. TraceyS/FL thread starter macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Location:
    North Central Florida
    #3
    Do you have the link? Because i tried to find the stupid forums over there this morning and didn't see them?!?!

    It's not looking like it's going to be my day - LOL - at least I get a haircut at 8pm, been trying to fit that in for months.

    :confused: Tracey.....
     
  4. TraceyS/FL thread starter macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Location:
    North Central Florida
  5. TraceyS/FL thread starter macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Location:
    North Central Florida
    #5
    For the record - no responses to my post over there.

    My Internet went down yesterday afternoon - and didn't come back up till this morning... which means i got nowhere. And I leave town in the morning.

    I really need the :banghead: smilie here....
     
  6. TraceyS/FL thread starter macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Location:
    North Central Florida
    #6
    THis is pretty predictable - I even downloaded the new build posted on the 7th - 3188?

    Running with my Boot Camp partition, XPsp2 Home, retail purchase

    I installed it with that build and "shared" networking. Upon launch it took over the airport and the Mac could not connect to the i-net. I stopped the network - still the same problem. In the network control panel it indicates that my airport doesn't have an IP addy and can't connect. The 2 parallels host things are still running connected (despite having been stopped).

    I uninstall Parallels - again, and then airport indicates that it has a self-assigned IP and might not be able to connect to the internet (it can't).

    I reboot, all is fine.

    I try to install Parallels and choose no networking - same problem, have to remove it to get it back.

    Apparently i'm the only person having this problem..... I was having various net issues on the computer - it was dropping - so i bought the N enabler because i read of that helping. I honestly don't remember if i had parallels installed at that point yet.

    We also had to replace our wireless router this weekend while this was going on - it died. My Dad's new MacPro was having similar issues NOT being able to connect.

    So, basically, i have a 1 week old MacBook Pro, and parallels kills the airport.....
     
  7. macfan881 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2006
    #7
    hmm i seem to be having wireless problems esp with aim ichat and even when im on my pc partion on bootcamp using aim and other programs also
     

Share This Page