Parallels Update Emerges from Beta

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by htdefiant, Feb 27, 2007.

  1. htdefiant macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    #1
    Link to Article

    Remember when I wrote a review on Parallels Beta 3150? Well, that release is now out of Beta. For existing customers, it's a free upgrade. I recommend doing that as soon as you can. For new customers, the price does not change from the previous $79.99.
     
  2. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #2
    Good news, I'll be updating as soon as I return to my Mac :D
     
  3. daneoni macrumors G4

    daneoni

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    #3
    Too bad the site is down/slow. Must've been hammered.
     
  4. Sdashiki macrumors 68040

    Sdashiki

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Location:
    Behind the lens
    #4
    its the Digg effect.

    in FULL effect.
     
  5. stadidas macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Location:
    Kent, United Kingdom
    #5
    What is the build number for the new release? I have downloaded build 3186 and my activation key which came with the retail version I bought two days ago does not work with it. Is this because it is a UK product key?
     
  6. phuong macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    #6
    i suppose it is.
    version 2.5 and build 3186 are the same thing
     
  7. dannyss macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    #7
    Tried to dl about 45 minutes ago. Went to about half of it then stopped:(
    It's not obvious what to do for new users on how to get the new version. I tried the internal application menu upgrade option and it told me I had the latest version (build 1970):confused:
    So i decided to dl the dmg from their site but...
    I hope my bought activation code works with build 3186
     
  8. phuong macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    #8
  9. daneoni macrumors G4

    daneoni

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    #9
  10. benmadrid macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Location:
    Madrid
    #10
    Excellent, i have just run out of the trial period on the 1970 build, can't use it and really need to get some work done on it in the next few hours and their site is still down! And when I buy the key eventually will I have probs then upgrading? Hmmm...
     
  11. kermit4161 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2006
    #11
    THANKS for that alternate download link. It was going to take over 2 hours to get it from their main site.

    A.
     
  12. tolive macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    #12
    Just wondering, does the new version support vista on boot camp partition?
     
  13. htdefiant thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    #13
    @ tolive:
    In theory. I haven't tried it yet. If I do, I'll let you know how it goes.
     
  14. tolive macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    #14
    Thanks, I just tried the new version, no it still does NOT support Vista on Boot Camp.:(

     
  15. jacklangston macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    #15
    Apple's not supporting Vista on Boot Camp (yet). I would expect that with the new OSX coming soon.

     
  16. daveporter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Location:
    Green Cove Springs, FL
    #16
    I have upgraded to the new version and find that it functions very well.

    I especially like the coherence feature is really great overall, however, I notice a decrease in video performance when using that mode. The video performance decrease is not so large so as to make it a problem, however, as you drag windows it is actrually quite noticable.

    Dave
     
  17. daneoni macrumors G4

    daneoni

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    #17
    Well my trial has run out and now i have to downgrade back to 1970 because my key won't work. Maybe i should have sticked with bootcamp. I've emailed customer support but i've just been ignored all 3 times. Ridiculous.
     
  18. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #18
    ??? Are you using legitimate purchased serial / activation ?

    I bought Paralles when it was only $39

    My activation code has worked on all versions of parallels.

    The one time I lost my email confirmation of my AC, I emailed parallels and recieved a reply in less than 2 hours. :eek:
     
  19. cb31 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    #19
    Unfortunately if you have an international version the legitimate keys don't work with the betas and later versions. Parallels are completely unwilling to assist.

    Apparently when the next "proper" version is released they will sort the key out. To be honest I should have just downloaded a cracked version as buying it legitimately has been a huge pain in the rear end.

    Great product, awful customer support.
     
  20. daneoni macrumors G4

    daneoni

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    #20
    Hear hear
     
  21. laffingbilly macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    #21
    i downloaded parallels upgrade and my current build now is 3188 as of march 7. just a caution, when i went to upgrade from 1790 to 3188, i got a black screen. I was able to type in my password and it would login without me being able to see anything, but what good is it if i can only see a black screen? so i had to clean install 3188. works like a charm though. seems to work much faster as well.
     
  22. OllyW Moderator

    OllyW

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Location:
    The Black Country, England
    #22
    I bought the UK boxed version yesterday and tried to enter the serial number into build 3188. It wouldn't accept the serial, saying it would not work with the current version.

    I was not very happy about this because I wanted to use Transporter to use a virtual machine of my current PC, so checked on the internet to see what my options were. Build 1970 hasn't got Transporter so I couldn't use that version.

    There was no information on the official Parallels web site, so I checked Avanquest the UK distributor. On the Parallels info page is this information.

    I uninstalled the latest build, installed the 1970 UK version on the boxed CD and entered my serial number. I then checked for updates and downloaded a UK version of build 3186. This update accepted my serial, so I now have last weeks build with the Parallels features I need.

    Perhaps this can help some of the others with this problem?
     

Share This Page