Parallels??

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by jcoffman78, Feb 5, 2007.

  1. jcoffman78 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    #1
    I have Parallels installed on my Macbook and have installed XP along with it, I was wondering if you could run 2 OS's within Parallels, namely Unbuntu.
     
  2. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #2
    Simultaneously or just being able to have multiple virtual machines? You can have multiple virtual machines as long as you have the disk space.

    Simultaneously might be a bit more of a problem...
     
  3. mac-convert macrumors 6502a

    mac-convert

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Location:
    Are we there yet?
    #3
    I have run two at once, but it's a major drain on memory if anything. Set up the disks as expandable and disk space should not be an issue. I recommend 2GB of memory as a good standard for running Parallels.
     
  4. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #4
    Even when the guest OS (XP Pro in my case) is idling, Parallels still uses 10% CPU and 2.1G of virtual memory! I would not want to run 2 virtuals unless I really had to.
     
  5. SupadudeX macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    #5
    I am running Windows Xp and Fedora Core 6 right now on parallels. It runs fine. Although all I ever do when all 3 are running is text editing/browsing the internet. I am using a the conroe Macbook Pro w/ 2Gigs of memory. I have about 260 Megs of memory free still. So if you start running any hardcore programs in any OS you will probably start to slow considerably. I will probably upgrade to 3 Gigs of RAM when prices come down a bit.
     

Share This Page