Paris Expo....

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by jakochampolska, Aug 13, 2005.

1. jakochampolska macrumors 6502

I'm new to the Mac world, well, I dont even own one yet I'm planning on buying a 12' powerbook BUT
    I know there are rumors about them coming out with new ones when the Paris Expo thing happens. Well, I heard its in 3 weeks into Spetember, I'll be in Paris during that time. So if apple were to come out with new PBs during the Expo would it be possible for me to buy it there. This might seem like a stupid question but I'm curious. Also, if they did come out there and I bought one in France, you can change the language setting to English right? I know the keys would be different, but that doesnt matter to me. And would it be possible buy a French powerbook and then use it in America? Or it doesnt really matter.
    Thanks guys, I'm pretty lost in this new world lol :p
    -Chantal

2. Sttesuhc macrumors member

The main question is whether or not the (presumably updated) PowerBooks will be shipping immediately or at a later date. MacWorld SF in January 04 (or 03?) announced PowerBook updates that didn't ship until several months later. It seems that the likely update is minor-- just a speed bump and maybe other small increases under the hood, so I would assume they would be available immediately.

I believe at certain Expo events in the past (whether SF or Paris) units have been available for purchase. Don't quote me on that, though. Either way, you'd have to get into the Expo to purchase it there.

I'm also 87% sure that the foreign language could be changed by the user.

3. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

Mitthrawnuruodo

Language shouldn't be a problem. I'm in Norway and have installed my Tiger in English.

The keyboard would probably be slightly different, but since both French and English use the same letters it shouldn't be a major issue. (Not like Norwegian which uses three more letters: æ, ø and å.)