Pay $100 to fix my ding and scratches or no?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by moldy lunchbox, Feb 9, 2013.

1. macrumors 6502a

moldy lunchbox

I've had my 5 for a month and i managed to get a ding on the front corner and with a light scratch on the screen beside the front camera. I knew the 5 wouldn't be as tough as the iPhone 4 but my scratch came from merely putting on an olloclip lens. Idk what the ding is from, it just happened today after shooting video.

Basically my mom just bought her an iPhone 5 16gb yesterday, and she would gladly trade phones with mine so i could have a new phone. Shes a complete novice, made me open it, didnt know there was a front camera, wants a big case, etc. But i would have to take hers back and pay $100 to upgrade to 32gb , does anyone think its worth it to do that just over a ding and scratch? I feel nervous after i just signed my 2 year contract and my phone already looks like this. Theres only 14 days for returns so this is my only chance to get rid of the damage it seems. Should I deal with it or swap and pay 100 bucks?

2. macrumors member

Ask yourself this, is $100 worth the minor scratches? Your phone is bound to get scratches sooner or later. I got better things to spend $100 on.

3. macrumors 6502a

tonyy

4. macrumors 6502a

ohbrilliance

I agree with Usehername, it's only a matter of time before you get scratches on it. Can you upload a photo of your scratched phone so we can see how bad it is?

5. macrumors 6502

7thson

This is a perfect opportunity to detach from the iPhones aesthetics and embrace its functionality. Since(if?) the blemishes don't affect the functionality of the device, just roll with it and enjoy using it. If it helps, just tell yourself, "It's just stuff'" and repeat as necessary. Replace it when it no longer meets your needs.

6. thread starter macrumors 6502a

moldy lunchbox