PB G4 for Bioinformatics???

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by kotovasii, Jan 12, 2005.

1. kotovasii macrumors member

I have posted this question elswhere but got very little response so I hope here I shall get some answer... I am a student working on Bioinformatics. Most of the colleagues here who are serious are using Power Macs G5 for their computations. I however, would like to have a portable machine and my IBM thinkpad is far too old for any serious work (getting 4 years now). I also work a lot with graphics (PhotShop; 3D-reconstructions etc).
    My question is of technical nature though, I understand all advantages of OS X as I am a UNIX user myself, but completely puzzled by the G4 processor. When going to Apple web site they specifically recommend G5 processor based machines for scientists, but there is not one for a PB.
    If any of you have any opinion for the use of G4 in bioinformatics – would you recommend it? Or, should I wait till a mystical PB G5 comes out? I would like to get a new laptop by spring/summer 2005, and unlike some posters here I cannot afford to buy laptops every year, so I want to get something which would last me 3-4 years...
    Thanks chaps! :eek: :eek:

2. nargot macrumors regular

powerbook or ibook should be fine, but it depends on the kind of bioinformatics and particularly what specialized programs you will be using. For the work we need to do (sequence analysis progs, Photoshop etc) we don't need anything better than a G3. If you can look at the requirements of the programs you will be using it will tell you the recommended specs.

3. walkerIV macrumors member

Wait and see(tm)

As was said depends qiute a bit on the kind of work you do. I use my ibook for some basic analysis of MD simulations, but would not use it for the sims themselves.
    From what I understand G5 is _much_ better for scientfic computations.