PB hard drive space trouble

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by jamescwarren, Dec 19, 2005.

  1. jamescwarren macrumors 6502

    jamescwarren

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2005
    Location:
    Isle of Man
    #1
    I have a 1.33 GHz 15" PowerBook G4 that I think was released last year in April. I got mine in May last year and just a few days ago, I downloaded some freeware and shareware and the Apple installer opened as usual. But then when I got to the bit where it asks you where you want to install your applications, again, it came up with my Macintosh HD as usual but this is what it said ">4 GB Free". I didn't quite understand that so I checked up and in actual fact I have 19.56 GB left. If this is a problem with my hardware does it mean that I am only going to be able to now install only 4 GB of software because I really wouldn't be happy about that. And don't think about Apple Care because I don't have it. Please Help. I am leaving at six o clock. P.S. If you have a solution please go through it slowly because I'm good at working the computer, but not going deep inside it; letalone the os!
     
  2. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #2
    Open /Applications/Utilites/Terminal.app and type in:

    df

    Hit Return, and then post the results (please put them in code tags, that means click on the # in the forum post editor and paste the results between the
    Code:
     boxes).  It'll look something like this:
    
    [CODE]yellow% df
    Filesystem              512-blocks      Used     Avail Capacity  Mounted on
    /dev/disk2s9             234419560 182404376  51503184    78%    /
    devfs                          214       214         0   100%    /dev
    fdesc                            2         2         0   100%    /dev
    <volfs>                       1024      1024         0   100%    /.vol
    /dev/disk3s3             119840976     71920 119769056     0%    /Volumes/Foo3
    /dev/disk0s3             119840976  31814048  88026928    27%    /Volumes/Foo-Clone
    /dev/disk1s3             234179424 227273976   6905448    97%    /Volumes/Foo2
    automount -nsl [220]             0         0         0   100%    /Network
    automount -fstab [231]           0         0         0   100%    /automount/Servers
    automount -static [231]          0         0         0   100%    /automount/static
    /dev/disk4s1               1022432     46032    976400     5%    /Volumes/NIL
    
     
  3. jeremy.king macrumors 603

    jeremy.king

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Fuquay Varina, NC
    #3
    Last I checked 19.56GB > 4

    I think the installer was just telling you that you have "> 4 GB free."
     
  4. lordj4000 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    In unfathomable darkness
    #4
    I think it means: Size (greater than) 4gb. Your fine.

    Edit: kingjr beat me to it.
     
  5. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #5
    Cheers to me to TOTALLY misreading the original post. <kudos to me>
     
  6. jamescwarren thread starter macrumors 6502

    jamescwarren

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2005
    Location:
    Isle of Man
    #6
    This is what it said:

    Filesystem 512-blocks Used Avail Capacity Mounted on
    /dev/disk0s3 116948016 82497896 33938120 71% /
    devfs 199 199 0 100% /dev
    fdesc 2 2 0 100% /dev
    <volfs> 1024 1024 0 100% /.vol
    automount -nsl [232] 0 0 0 100% /Network
    automount -fstab [236] 0 0 0 100% /automount/Servers
    automount -static [236] 0 0 0 100% /automount/static
    James-Warrens-Computer:~ jameswarren$
     
  7. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #7
    Well, anyway, as noted, you have no space problems.
     
  8. jamescwarren thread starter macrumors 6502

    jamescwarren

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2005
    Location:
    Isle of Man

Share This Page