PB is making buzz noise

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by dorqiekat, Jan 17, 2006.

1. dorqiekat macrumors 6502a

I moved my pb from my desk to my lap and it the hd or fan or something made a whirring/buzzing noise. and it would come and go as the laptop is being tilted 30 degrees or so. Kind of like how if a fly comes near you ear and leaves real quick you get a buzz noise. It only makes the noise when you move the laptop. It's not like I was jerking it fast either. Slow dip of it and you get the noise. weird.

what is it?!

It's never done this before, should I be worried? I don't have applecare and warranty is gone. Plus I'm studying abroad in France in less than a week. I'll need my computer to be in working shape.

2. EHUnlucky7x9@ao macrumors 6502

What kind of Powerbook do you have? Ti or Alum? A buzzing noise from inside the laptop or from the speakers? If it sounds like it is inside, then it would be a smart idea to get an extra laptop hard drive and have your OS installed into it. If you don't think it's the hard drive, then it might just be the small fan inside.

3. TsuaSai macrumors 6502

My husbands Ti now does this anytime the fan is on just about..

However I was told that even though its called a "laptop" does not mean its made for your lap. But that was told to me by HP so you can take that however you like. But that might have something to do with it. Not really sure. I never asked anymore questions about that since I still thought I would probably use it in my lap.. But they pissed me off and I bought an Apple and here I am now.

If this is true, about not using your laptop in you lap I would love to hear for someone other than some one who is reading a script. Cause I can see why I would be that way too. Just didn't trust them after many battles.

4. law guy macrumors 6502a

law guy

My PB has done that when being tilted - not all the time, just sometimes. It doesn't seem to cause issues beyond the noise from time-to-time for me.