PB won't restart

Discussion in 'macOS' started by sammyman, Sep 21, 2005.

1. sammyman macrumors 6502a

I have a powerbook 12" and I have noticed recently that the thing will not restart when I try. I have to manually press the power button when it comes to a screen instructing me to do so. What is the deal? Isn't it suppose to restart all the way into tiger? No problems when shutting down, just the restart function.

Thanks.

2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

mad jew

What are you doing that requires a restart? Has OSX crashed? Is this the case every time you try to restart? :)

3. sammyman thread starter macrumors 6502a

I am new to osx. On windows, occasionally you restart instead of shutting down. Isn't it the same with macs?

4. yenko macrumors 6502a

Just how are you shutting down?? :confused:

You're not holding the power button until it shuts off, are you? :eek:

5. sammyman thread starter macrumors 6502a

No. I am going to the little blue apple in the top left and choosing restart. Then it brings up a page that tells me to hold the power button down. I have no choice.

6. .:*Robot Boy*:. macrumors 6502

That sounds like a Kernel Panic, which is bad - especially if it happens every time :eek:

7. sammyman thread starter macrumors 6502a

I think you are screwing with me, which is ok. I guess that means no big deal. Thnx

8. madmax_2069 macrumors 6502a

madmax_2069

have you tryed repairing permishions. have you tryed installing the os freash.have you tryed resetting the pram by holding the cmd-opt-p-o keys when you hear the start sound hold till you hear the start sound again and release the key's.it might be as easy as doing a format and install and every thing will be back in shape and before you do a install reset the pram just to be on the safe side

9. frenetic macrumors regular