PC gamer considering macs

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by SpecialKen99, Aug 14, 2004.

1. SpecialKen99 macrumors newbie

I never thought I'd consider buying a mac but here i am. I'm in my last year of highschool and i'm considering buying a laptop for use in college etc. etc. My goal profession is game design, i've been studying programing and such and now its time to buy a machine capable of developing yet playing games on. I want a laptop that I can develop in and playtest games in as well. I also want one that can handle the extensive library of games I have now unfortunatly all for pc :( . I really really like the look and power of the powerbook G4, it looks like a sweeeeet machine, but for a person in my situation, is it worth getting? Althought the machine looks powerful, and macs (I hear) are good for developing, how can i play my games on mac. Is there any way, official or unoffical to play PC games on mac? If there is, i'm all for getting a mac, if there isn't then idk what to do...I'm just curious on my options if any forum user can help it'll be most apperciated. Thank you.

2. yellow Moderator emeritus

yellow

Short answer: No.

Long answer: Yes, you can play some games using VirtualPC, which is an Intel hardware emulator that you can then install a Windows OS on. But it's slow as death. And there's no 3d accel, so most modern games won't play. M$ is planning on outting VPC7 later this year and rumors abound on it emulating a faster processor and using the Mac's video card. But these are mostly rumors.

3. Capt Underpants macrumors 68030

Capt Underpants

Mac's aren't for you

0In all honesty, if you are looking to be playing new games in a year, none of the Powerbooks (no matter what people here may tell you) will perform well. Simply put, even the fastest powerbook right now is inadequate for high res, high settings gaming. It certainly won't be gaming two years from now. Get an alienware...