PC iPod - What's the deal?

Discussion in 'Mac Help/Tips' started by shadowfax0, Dec 16, 2002.

  1. shadowfax0 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    #1
    I want to get my brother an iPod for Xmas; however, he has a PC. I know there are PC iPods, but what do I have to do to get one? Do I just go up to the guy in the Apple store and say "Yeah, I need a PC iPod?" or will any iPod do; is there a difference between the two? Can anyone tell me if he will need Xplay or anyhting like that? Thanks!
     
  2. sparkleytone macrumors 68020

    sparkleytone

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2001
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC
    #3
    just go to target or best buy and get one.

    they carry the pc ones.
     
  3. Gus macrumors 65816

    Gus

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2002
    Location:
    Minnesota
    #4
    Umm, no it won't. If you buy the Mac version, because it is formatted in HFS extended, the PC will not see it. Also, the PC software needed to import your music will not be included. Yes, you can take a PC iPod and make it Mac, but it won't work the other way around.

    Regards,
    Gus
     
  4. LethalWolfe macrumors G3

    LethalWolfe

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #5
    Umm, dude, I think you misread edvniow's post.


    Lethal
     
  5. vniow macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    I accidentally my whole location.
    #6
    Isn't that what I said?

    Click on that link and scroll down to MacBandit's post. He took a PC iPod and plugged it into his Mac and it worked just like a Mac iPod, no formatting, no extra software, no anything. The Mac version won't work like that since it's formatted in HFS and Windows can't read that format while Macs can read both HFS and FAT32 which the PC iPod is formatted in.
    The PC version comes with the Musicmatch software which is needed I believe so if you want an iPod which will work on both platforms, get the PC one.
     
  6. shadowfax0 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
  7. Gus macrumors 65816

    Gus

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2002
    Location:
    Minnesota
    #8
    Well call me an idiot. I humbly apologize. I wasn't trying to be mean, I just didn't understand what your message was. The title of that post made it sound like you were agreeing with the title of the post rather than the contents of it. Once again, my bad. I just wanted to make sure that the original poster didn't misread and buy the Mac version which wouldn't work with his brother's PC. Just wanted to cover the bases.

    Sorry about the confusion on my part!

    Regards,
    Gus
     
  8. Falleron macrumors 68000

    Falleron

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2001
    Location:
    UK
    #9
    Why doesn't Apple just make one version? If the PC version works fine on the Mac, its in Apple's interests to have less options to build for. I dont understand.
     
  9. yzeater macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    #10
    It's because us Apple people don't want any connection to the PC world! (I say this as I'm on an HP at school...)
     
  10. Falleron macrumors 68000

    Falleron

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2001
    Location:
    UK
    #11
    I guess its always been the same. Even going back to using floppy disc (I used PC formatted disks so I could use them on my Mac + also on PC's.). Oh well.
     
  11. Wes macrumors 68020

    Wes

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2001
    Location:
    London
    #12
    The standard connections between the platforms are different. :p
     
  12. vniow macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    I accidentally my whole location.
    #13
    Not really.

    Most computers have 6-pin FW (the kind you see on Macs) and few have 4-pin (Sony's iLink) so FW is the same on Mac or PC.
     
  13. zarathustra macrumors 6502a

    zarathustra

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    #14
    I think that was a joke - same different standards - teehee, get IT?:p
     
  14. pgwalsh macrumors 68000

    pgwalsh

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2002
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, Colorado
    #15
    I went to Target in Redwood City, CA to get some Advanced Gameboy games for my newphews and they didn't have any iPod's on display. When I asked the clerk he knew nothing. But could have asked him about anything and he'd know nothing.
     
  15. Billicus macrumors 6502a

    Billicus

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Location:
    Charles City, Iowa
    #16
    I haven't seen any at my local target in Waterloo, Iowa either. I however have seen them at Best Buys.
     

Share This Page