PC only college!!!

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by carpe diem, Oct 29, 2005.

  1. carpe diem macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2005
    #1
    I am applying to college now and one of the colleges says that you must have a PC running Win XP Pro!!!!
    How unfair is that.
     
  2. dubbz macrumors 68020

    dubbz

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Location:
    Alta, Norway
    #2
    There should be a OS X or Linux-only college. That whould make more sense. No need worrying about anti-virus and anti-spyware and all that ****.
     
  3. PharmD macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    Location:
    Oregon Coast
    #3
    That's so weak man. Talk about catering to the lowest common denominator. You should petition!
     
  4. PharmD macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    Location:
    Oregon Coast
    #4
    Then the IT guys wouldn't have a job. I'm convinced that's why the IT dept at my college don't use OSX. They openly admit that they would be better yet stick with XP pro because (what follows is my opinion) it ensures job security.
     
  5. carpe diem thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2005
    #5
    Once i get in i will but for now i will resurect a Pc from my trash pile.
     
  6. Sirus The Virus macrumors 6502a

    Sirus The Virus

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Location:
    Texas
    #6
    My brother's college said PC only. He has an iBook. It turns out that they just won't do technical support for macs. So I think you could use your mac on campus.
     
  7. carpe diem thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2005
    #7
    It says its for networking purposes.
     
  8. dubbz macrumors 68020

    dubbz

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Location:
    Alta, Norway
    #8
    *cough*Bullocks*cough*

    They're just clueless. Or they use some weirdass Windows-only system.
     
  9. carpe diem thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2005
  10. themacman macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Location:
    kc
  11. carpe diem thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2005
    #11
    Its the best hotel management school in the world
     
  12. Mr. Anderson Moderator emeritus

    Mr. Anderson

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2001
    Location:
    VA
    #12
    which is....?

    I'm curious to see what they have to say - you have a link to their site stating this?

    D
     
  13. sushi Moderator emeritus

    sushi

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Location:
    キャンプスワ&#
    #14
    Yes. (Although there can be work arounds.)

    However, as long as the network is TCP/IP based you should be okay.

    Sometimes, networks will even support Appletalk. But since the question concerned Mac OS X, TCP/IP is fine.

    Sushi
     
  14. carpe diem thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2005
    #15
    Thank you
     
  15. sushi Moderator emeritus

    sushi

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Location:
    キャンプスワ&#
    #16
    Just remember that most PC heads will tell you that it won't work.

    Nor will they want to support you.

    Hang in there and don't give up.

    My guess is that their network is set up for DHCP access using TCP/IP over Ethernet or WiFi. All Mac OS X supports this.

    Sushi
     
  16. OutThere macrumors 603

    OutThere

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2002
    Location:
    NYC
    #17
    There's a good chance they'd make you register your computer and it'd have to be a PC, but as long as you had some junker PC around to register with, you could most likely pull out your Mac when you get to your room. Good chance it'd work fine. :D
     
  17. sushi Moderator emeritus

    sushi

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Location:
    キャンプスワ&#
    #18
    Only problem with this, is if they register the MAC address.

    My guess is that they won't.

    In some environments that I've worked in, everything is static. So there is a lot of setup tasks to complete to get the PC to work on the network. In this case, as long as you have the variables, usually you can get a Mac up and running as well.

    As for getting an old PC, I just picked up an old Compaq laptop sans HD for free. I had a 40GB HD laying around so I used it. Installed WinXP and Office 2003. Slow but works.

    Even put an old Linksys B card (that I found in the trash) for WiFi.

    Sushi
     
  18. carpe diem thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2005
    #19
    I have loads of PC's lying around since my switch so i am ok on that front
     
  19. sushi Moderator emeritus

    sushi

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Location:
    キャンプスワ&#
    #20
    Just think of what you could use these for...

    I just trashed my Win 3.1 and Win 3.11 for workgroups install disks.

    However, I still have some DOS disks if you need them. :D

    Sushi
     

Share This Page