PC user looking to switch to mac HELP!!!

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by musicjunky99, Mar 30, 2004.

1. musicjunky99 macrumors newbie

Hello everyone ... I am a music composer who is currently using a p4 1.0g along with acid 4.0 and cubase sx. I have been considering a mac for a very long time but I'm not exactly sure what the benefits are. I've been searching the web for a while and it is hard to find good solid advice. Anyone out there work with audio and midi seriously that can give me some direction as far as what to buy. .... right now I am looking to add DP 4 and a lexicon omega to any mac system. I'd like my setup to be fairly mobile. Cost is also somewhat of a factor. I would use it 95% of the time for working with audio and midi.

2. jumpman25 macrumors regular

Don't know that much about composing music, but here is a thread that might help you out a little with the pros of mac computers.

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=64943

3. musicjon macrumors newbie

It's a good thing

I made the switch 1 year ago February, it is absolutely the best move I've ever made. Every time I've had to help a fellow musician put their Windows machine back together I want to kiss my Powerbook (and the iMac I had before it).

Beware of the G5 at this point. I had to return one due to the ever popular noisy power supply issue. Once that is taken care of it will be an awesome machine. I learned my lesson on that one, never buy Rev. A.

Check out osxaudio.com, it's got an emagic bias, but you'll get a good idea about what's up in the mac audio world.

FYI the switch from Cubase PC to Cubase Mac is only $12, which is awesome.

4. thirteen1031 macrumors 6502

thirteen1031