Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by Kimberley, Apr 19, 2004.

1. Kimberley macrumors newbie

Jan 13, 2004
    Yes I am still using a PC. :eek: Cant wait 2 get rid of it and get an Apple Mac. :D

I am currently studying Graphic Design at University so would therefore need a portable machine.

I am finding it difficult to make a decision on what portable to get as there are so many options available. :confused: So where best to get advice than from you all.

The options I have looked at are:
    * G4 ibook 14" 1.2GHz
    256 Ram (probably max out to 1.25GB RAM)
    DVD-R/CD-RW (Superdrive option)
    Radeon 9200 (32 Mb)
    Bluetooth, 2 x USB, 1 x Firewire, Applecare

1625.50 (UK Price inc. educational disc.)

* G4 Powerbook 15.2" 1.5GHz
    512 Ram (What is the difference between 1 SO-DIMM and 2 SO-DIMMs)
    80Gb (5400 rpm)
    Radeon 9700 (128 MB)
    Bluetooth, Airport Card, USB, Firwire 400 & 800, Backlit keyboard, Applecare

1964.76 (UK Price inc. educational discount)

As I am a student getting the ibook would save me a bit of money. I still have to consider software for mac platform.

Will the ibook manage programs such as Quark, Photoshop, Illustrator, Indesign? Are there any major disadvantages with the above ibook model?

Advice appreciated. Thanks
  2. me_94501 macrumors 65816

Jan 6, 2003
    When the iBook was G3 based, running those applications might've been an issue. However, with the new iBook G4s, they should run without a problem.
  3. iBunny macrumors 65816

Apr 15, 2004

Video Processor and Video ram wouldnt be an issue?
  4. me_94501 macrumors 65816

Jan 6, 2003
    I don't think it should be an issue. If it is, there's always the 12" PowerBook which starts at $1599 US, $1399 with student discount. I don't know how the prices run outside the states, though.
  5. minstryoffunk macrumors member

Apr 19, 2004