PC WIDESCREEN game demo's

Discussion in 'Games' started by combatcolin, Aug 20, 2005.

  1. combatcolin macrumors 68020

    combatcolin

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2004
    Location:
    Northants, UK
    #1
    Apart from Far Cry, which im downloading as i type, (500MB+) what other pc game demos offer a widescreen option.

    Have fas tBB so size is not an option.
     
  2. AP_piano295 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    #2
    Where are u downloading far cry from?
     
  3. dubbz macrumors 68020

    dubbz

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Location:
    Alta, Norway
    #3
    Check out Widescreen Gaming Forum's list. You'll see a list of games, and whether or not they support widescreen. Just search around for demos of those games.
     
  4. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
  5. combatcolin thread starter macrumors 68020

    combatcolin

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2004
    Location:
    Northants, UK
    #5
    Thanks for the list, Downloaded Far Cry (PC version) from www.gamespot.com

    Havn't played Doom 3 and after all the grief about it killing even monstor systems and the game being a bit duff i don't know if i'll bother downloading a demo.
     
  6. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #6
    It runs surprisingly well on my G4.
     
  7. combatcolin thread starter macrumors 68020

    combatcolin

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2004
    Location:
    Northants, UK
    #7
    Oh well, so much for Far Cry.

    Won't let me install by double clicking the Far Cry icon, and when it says install using the setup icon that crashs.

    Oh well, have to wait till Monday, friend has the game and hes lending it to me.
     
  8. combatcolin thread starter macrumors 68020

    combatcolin

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2004
    Location:
    Northants, UK
    #8
    Tried again, this time left it for 5 minutes and the installer started.

    Unfortunatly i still cannot "get" keyboard and mouse for playing FPS no matter how much i try.

    End result: me dying.

    Lots.

    And nul points for not putting "WS" or "Widescreen" after a resolution to signify a widescreen resolution. :mad:
     
  9. DrNeroCF macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    #9
    There's so very few mac games that don't support widescreen. Hurray for standardization!
     
  10. jiggie2g macrumors 6502

    jiggie2g

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2003
    Location:
    Brooklyn,NY
    #10
    Want to game Buy a PC



    Not my system , Specs below. though I have to admit my new Geforce 7800GT might have something to do with it. :D

    I know with this card I can play it at 1280x1024 w/4xAA+8xAF/High Quality mode at 70fps+. :eek:

    With my 6600GT(that I recently sold) I was able to run it at 1024x768 Medium mode no AA or AF , but at 45fps+.

    Actually BF2(SM 3.0) , Splinter Cell : Chaos Theory(SM 3.0) , Chronicles of Riddick :EFBB(SM 3.0) , and especially F.E.A.R.{SM 3.0}(this is the next big thing) put much more stress on my new card than Doom 3.


    plus I have cheap'o Corsair value ram , when i get my OCZ Plat Rev.2 sticks i'm sure i will see a boost.

    Apple needs these cards in the worst way.

    Geforce 7800GT is the Radeon X850XT PE Killer..hahaha
     

Share This Page