Pci-e Sata Raid?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by timb, Aug 10, 2006.

  1. timb macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    #1
    Anyone have leads on a mac pro compatible PCI-E SATA RAID card? I have three SATA 150 10k RPM Raptors sitting here I'd *love* to hook up in RAID-5 on my new Mac Pro, though I'd settle with RAID-0.
     
  2. jdwl macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    #2
  3. timb thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    #4
  4. voyagerd macrumors 65816

    voyagerd

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Location:
    Rancho Cordova, CA
    #5
    I don't see that the one you are showing has Mac support.
     
  5. YoYoMa macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    #6
    I am also considering a bootable RAID card for my Mac Pro. Are there any out there that are highly regarded among the competition without costing more than they're really worth? Like Raptors with hard drives?
     
  6. timb thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    #7
    Look at the link in jdwl's post.

    The card in my link uses the SiL reference chip, and seeing as how SiL provides drivers on their site, it should work. The only question is wether you can boot or not with it. It's $30, so I'm ordering one to try.

    -Timothy
     
  7. Chaszmyr macrumors 601

    Chaszmyr

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2002
    #8
    I haven't seen a Mac Pro in person yet, but judging by the pictures, I'd say that given the way the hard drive bays are set up there would be no viable way to use those bays for a RAID array.
     
  8. Sun Baked macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
  9. MaxPower2k6 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    #10

    That was my impression, too. The SATA connections are built into the drive bays; there's no way to route them to a different controller. I'd love to be wrong, though... A RAID5 setup in there would be fantastic.
     
  10. timb thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    #11
    Well, they do seem to be hard wired into the drive bay, however they DO go to a plug on the motherboard. You could adapt that to a normal drive somehow I suppose.

    I guess what I really want is a bootable RAID 5 card... In time I suppose.
     
  11. jdwl macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    #12
    Why would the drives have to be inside the computer? e-sata is just as good (better for heat issues really)...
     
  12. timb thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    #13
    Then I'd have 4 drives sitting on my desk buzzing in my ear, and that's just not cool.
     
  13. jdwl macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    #14
    nah - e-sata cables can be looooong - put them in a cupboard, or just on the floor :p
     
  14. eMagine macrumors regular

    eMagine

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #16
    I use firmtek seritek. but hardware RAID only works in Windows.
     
  15. kittiyut macrumors regular

    kittiyut

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    #17
  16. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #18
    From a quick glance at the Sonnet, I wouldn't think so. It doesn't seem to be hardware RAID. (Needed for multiple OS use). You can always contact the manufacturer. In my experience, they will respond. :)

    Bootcamp causes problems with some cards. :(

    There are a few other threads about, where the bootcamp issue has been discussed in depth.

    Barefeats is about to release a review of the CalDigit RAID card. Possibly the RocketRaid 2640x4 as well.

    Good Luck,
    Nanofrog.
     

Share This Page