PCs GTX285/275/260/295 working in any MacPro....

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by netkas, May 27, 2009.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    #1
    We recently received a drivers for gt200/gt200b chips, if anyone is interesting in getting geforece gtx working in macpro - lets try.

    you will need an injector, for example this one - http://netkas.org/?p=107 .

    and drivers itself, from evga site - http://www.evga.com/forums/tm.asp?m=100725204

    it checks for macpro model (3,1 and 4,1), so if u have 1,1 or 2,1 - use pacifist application to extract kexts from pkg and install them with kexthelper application
     
  2. macrumors 68040

    Cindori

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #2
    Wow, I cant understand why there is such a low interest for this.

    Nobody want the possibility to use a PC GTX 285 in OSX? It is half the price of the mac version. Or even a GTX 295...
     
  3. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    #3
    Netkas , Can you suggest about the card that can use with your injector on Mac pro,

    Now i need nvidia card on my mac pro very very much. (Working in CUDA programming)

    I try 2600XT with 9800GX2 and get nothing , no pci card , graphics details on system profiler when plug monitor with 9800GX2 i got black screen.

    and then try 2600XT with 8600GT i got a blue screen when i plug monitor with 2600XT and get a black screen when plug monitor with 8600GT.

    this is my log when installing 8600GT
    http://www.mediafire.com/?mzdizqy2zzz

    ps. Thank you for your hard works.
     
  4. macrumors 68020

    peskaa

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
    #4
    Will this have a chance of working with a GTX 275?
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    #5
    yeah
     
  6. macrumors 68020

    peskaa

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
    #6
    Sweet, I'll certainly be trying this out. I'd love to be able to just run my 275.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    #7
    replug thing was caused by wrong NVCAP value, we fixed it now
     
  8. macrumors regular

    alam

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia
    #8
    tnx nektas
    does this mean i can buy today a pc card 285 and it will work on osx?
    and one last thing please, could you explain what did you mean by this
    and where can i find that topic?
     
  9. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    #9
    noone tested it on macpro yet.
     
  10. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2007
    #10
    I just went to that web site and registered and cannot find #gt200 anywhere netkas - can you be more explicit about where these are - and indeed if these are the new 10.5.7 drivers? I was only able to get to #hackint0sh.

    I checked netkas.org and your link there is similarly obscure. I see your OpenGL numbers are now even better than the ones I posted a few days ago! What CPU did you have (mine were 08 mac pro, 2.8GHz). OpenGL 2.1 is now much better.
     
  11. macrumors 6502

    thepawn

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    #11
    what model card were you successful with, I think I may try this?
     
  12. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2007
    #12
    Eventually found the drivers and loaded onto my Mac Pro 10.5.7 partition - so far my 285 is not driving anything and the new drivers have actually disabled CUDA working on my 8800 and sometime cause a system freeze. Will fiddle some more but am not convinced - maybe it works better on a hackintosh?

    Added in edit - now giving up. Results so far from Mac Pro with 8800 in slot 1, pc 285 in slot 2 under 10.5.7

    1. new drivers + netkas inject - no complete boot, stuck on blue screen
    2. new drivers + corevidia 1.1 inject, boots only 8800, no signal on 285. System unstable and CUDA disabled.

    Any ideas netkas - is there something in your setup that means this is only for hackintosh? Is having two different cards causing a problem? I have a 2G 285 - is that an issue? Do I need to edit a plist or NVCAp setting somewhere>
     
  13. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    #13
    yeah, an idea - unplug display connector from gtx285, boot osx(completly boot), plug display into gtx285

    also try - gtx285 in slot1, 8800gt in slot2

    my injector was coded with macpro support in mind.
     
  14. macrumors 68040

    Mackilroy

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #14
    You are using IRC, aren't you? Just go to the server he mentioned, then in the text box type /join #gt200. It took me about five seconds to get into the channel.
     
  15. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2007
    #15
    Then you are smarter than I am. I did eventually figure out what IRC was - never done it before. Will try netkas suggestions (thx) but need to do my day job right now....very keen to get this up now I see netkas OpenGL scores better than mine with CoreVidia and Snow. Interesting comparison with Quadro numbers as well.
     
  16. macrumors 6502

    thepawn

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    #16
    what model card are you guys trying? I don't want to run into that non-reference issue that cropped up in the ATI space... I'd like to try the 285 in my Mac Pro.
     
  17. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2007
    #17
    I am using the Palit GTX 285 with 2G RAM, and a Zotac 260 (216 core) on two separate systems, each with an 8800GT in slot 1 for the EFI boot. I might be making extra trouble for myself using a 2G card rather than 1G - recognizing memory above 1.5G (as is on the Quadro) seems to give glitches. If you do want want to spend the money on the Mac edition 285, my advice would be to get an EVGA PC 285. The reason I say this is that a year or two back EVGA were fairly reliably shipping PC 8800 cards that could be flashed. Others may have different views.
     
  18. macrumors 6502

    thepawn

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    #18
    Cool...that's the one I was figuring I would try it on.
     
  19. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    #19
    more and more success stories on hacks: http://www.insanelymac.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=113489&st=80&start=80

    about sot locatio of gtx 2xx card:

    on hackintosh side, when u install multiple nvidia cards, you need to set inital graphics port to last one (for example if cards installed into peg1 and peg2, inital must be peg2)

    since gtx 2xx card on macpro isnt initialized by efi , i think you will need to install it into first port, and some other nvidia mac card to slot2/3/4.
     
  20. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2007
    #20
    Alive on Mac Pro - 260+10.5.7

    I am starting to get somewhere with this on a Mac Pro and 10.5.7, but only on my 8800+260 Pro. I still get hang ups with an 8800+2Gig 285. With the 260 the card certainly drivers a monitor and comes up with QE/CI working, and goodish OpenGL numbers in the expected range. (It only has 216 cores and is slower clock)

    My problem is that CUDA is now totally screwed up. It thinks I only have one card, not two, and the readings coming out are all wrong on deviceQuery, and codes like nbody just do not start. My Mac thinks my 260 has 0Meg VRAM as well. So netkas has clearly done a great job, but it is kinda 75% there at the moment. The good news is in the screen shots. This is of course 100% if you only need the monitor use, but more is needed for multi-GPU computational work.

    Thanks netkas - I will keep fiddling with this and my other card as well.

    FYI - this working card is a Zotac GTX 260 with 216 cores and 89x Meg RAM. My problems are more with a Palit GTX 285 with 2G RAM. Both cards work fine with a 8800GT and operate as dual GPU under Windows.
     

    Attached Files:

  21. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    #21
    That's still pretty sweet progress lol
     
  22. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    #22
  23. macrumors 68020

    peskaa

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
    #23
    I'm ready to try this on my 2008 MP with a GTX 275, but I need a step-by-step walkthrough to get this right. I only have two power leads for the cards as well (ie: I can't power the 8800GT as well as the 275), is that a problem?
     
  24. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    #24
    step by step about software side - http://netkas.org/?p=106

    well, you can try to install drivers with 8800 gt installed, then shut down macpro, insert 275gtx and try to boot it ( u will not see anything until os booted)

    if it doesnt work - swap 275 to 8800gt and it should boot.
     
  25. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    #25
    And we do not have the 8800GT? I have a Mac Pro Early 2009 with the Geforce GT 120.

    greetings
     

Share This Page