PDAnet or Mywi?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by x-evil-x, Dec 27, 2011.

  1. x-evil-x
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    #1
    on untethered jailbreak for 5.0.1 and pda net doesn't seem to be letting me turn it on. i want something that i can hide my usage so id prefer this one. does anyone know if tethering to an iPad only will show up as another device? since it isn't an actual computer i don't think the would be able to tell the difference.
    anybody using tethering apps on this new software yet?
     
  2. eastercat
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68040

    eastercat

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Location:
    PDX
  3. x-evil-x
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    #3
    see i have no idea. just downloaded the one that was in there
     
  4. eastercat
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68040

    eastercat

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Location:
    PDX
  5. Nevrsadie
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Nevrsadie

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    Location:
    Dark side of the monitor
  6. tipop
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    #6
    Does Teatherme hide usage like PDAnet does?
     
  7. tipop
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    #7
    I noticed that the WPA2 settings don't seem to be working right since the update. If I give the wifi hotspot any password (8-16 characters) it simply fails to turn on, but if I leave it with no password, it works fine. I'm writing this message right now using my wifi-only iPad and using PDAnet on my iPhone.
     
  8. OceanView
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
  9. Grimsrud
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    #9
    I'm using TetherMe to type this. AT&T has never bothered me about tethering, but I use a VPN to cloak what's going through my connection.
     
  10. tipop
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    #10
    How does one use a VPN? If it's a complicated subject, just direct me to a good link and I'll try to figure it out myself.
     
  11. briankeith513
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    briankeith513

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #11
    What He said. Tetherme is easily the best, and the cheaper than MyWi.
     
  12. MastahRiz
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    #12
  13. x-evil-x
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    #13
    if I'm only tethering to my iPad will att be able to tell its a different device? i won't be tethering to my mac.
     
  14. x-evil-x
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    #14
    yep it works without a password fine. they should update soon id think.
    level 1 for blocking right? not sure what level 2 does.
     
  15. tipop
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    #15
  16. malias4
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    malias4

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011
    Location:
    Greece and Holland
    #16
    i vote for tether me as well, never had a single problem !
    i dont use it so much but it always worked for me !
     
  17. nyfliiboy
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    #17
    Another vote for tetherme. Im using it right now for my mac
     
  18. tipop
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    #18
    Well, I just tried TetherMe and it completely fails to show up as a network on my iPad. When I activate it it tells me that it's working, but no network shows up. In the TetherMe section of the Settings app it simply says "TetherMe not loaded".
     
  19. db67fm
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    db67fm

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #19
    I just updated to TetherMe version 2.2-30 and I found that if you go to Settings > TetherMe it says "TetherMe not loaded". But the app still works just fine.


    To start tethering, go to Settings > Personal Hotspot > On.

    TetherMe still says "TetherMe not loaded" but I can connect to my new hotspot on other devices.
     
  20. jimmy83
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Location:
    Portsmouth, UK
    #20
    Do you need this option to use tetherme? My provider doesn't offer it.

    To start tethering, go to Settings > Personal Hotspot > On.

    TetherMe still says "TetherMe not loaded" but I can connect to my new hotspot on other devices.[/QUOTE]
     
  21. tipop
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    #21
    Like I said, I turned it on but no wifi hotspot showed up when I went to look for it on my iPad.
     
  22. jimmy83
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Location:
    Portsmouth, UK
    #22
    Just started using pdanet, seems great at the mo and it's free :)
     
  23. JrFreak
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    JrFreak

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    #23
    I was using MyWi when I tethered and wasn't using it that much at all. I got a text and email from AT&T stating I would be put on a plan if I continued. I haven't used MyWi in months... not sure how they caught it.

    PDANet is suppose to hide tethering, but the makers of MyWi say they don't do anything differently then the other tethering apps do. So I don't know what's the best...
     
  24. hackthatphone
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68000

    hackthatphone

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010

Share This Page