.PDF, Safari, preview and Adobe

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by tomokun, May 21, 2006.

  1. tomokun macrumors member

    tomokun

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    #1
    For some odd reason, in Safari when I try to open a .pdf, it doesnt open like it were to open in preview, but it gives me a licence agreement error and closes Safari. How can I go back to the default?

    I have 10.4.6, iMacG5 2.0GHZ 20" 1GB of Ram if that helps.
     
  2. mrwildguitar macrumors regular

    mrwildguitar

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    Location:
    Glenwood Projects
  3. tomokun thread starter macrumors member

    tomokun

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    #3
    I want it so that when I click a .pdf on any site, anywhere, it wont give me some stupid "Adobe viewer something about an invalid licence agreement wasnt accepted now closing" and then close my browser. I want the default .pdf viewing settings in Safari.
     
  4. mrwildguitar macrumors regular

    mrwildguitar

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    Location:
    Glenwood Projects
    #4
    Ah, ok, thanks for clearing it up.

    Since I don't use Safari, I'm not 100% sure, but if you don't need the Adobe Viewer or whatever could you possibly get rid of it so it can go back to default?

    Sorry if I'm creating more confusion than helping you.
     
  5. janey macrumors 603

    janey

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Location:
    sunny los angeles
    #5
    Sounds like you have the Adobe PDF reader handle PDFs in browsers instead of Preview. Don't remember where all that stuff is on your computer, but try looking in /Library/Internet Plug-Ins for something with "Adobe" in the name, or /Users/(username)/Library/Internet Plug-Ins and delete it.
     
  6. tomokun thread starter macrumors member

    tomokun

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    #6
    Under /Library/Internet Plug-Ins /AdobePDFViewer.plugin I added it to my desktop and ill test tomorrow, I really dont want to bother crashing it when im about to go put this thing to rest anyway.

    Thanks for the help! Infact im surprised i didnt think of it X_X.
     
  7. lpshean macrumors regular

    lpshean

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    #7
    Can you not just and "get info" ... and then change the appropriate program to run by default?

    Unless im understanding your question wrongly that is. :)
     
  8. janey macrumors 603

    janey

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Location:
    sunny los angeles
    #8
    i think the OP meant PDFs that opened in the browser, which would be a plugin for the browser. your answer is perfectly alright if it were just a PDF not in a browser.
     
  9. mac4drew macrumors regular

    mac4drew

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #9
    But doesn't Safari have a built in PDF plugin that has nothing to do with Adobe? It sounds like Acrobat installed its own Adobe PDF reader plugin into Safari somehow, over Safari's built in PDF reader. Safari should know to handle PDFs on its own, shouldn't it?
     
  10. janey macrumors 603

    janey

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Location:
    sunny los angeles
    #10
    Safari uses the same thing as Preview (iirc quicktime) to display PDFs and if you install a plugin for another app to display it (i.e. Acrobat), it'll use the other app. To go back you can always get rid of the plugin for Acrobat.
     
  11. micvog macrumors 6502

    micvog

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2003
    #11
    Thanks Janey! I was having this exact problem as well and your solution fixed it.
     

Share This Page