Performa Pics and Inards!

Discussion in 'Apple Collectors' started by Macmaniac, Jul 15, 2002.

  1. macrumors 68040

    Macmaniac

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2001
    Messages:
    3,341
    Location:
    A tiny spec in the "Garden State", 1 square mile i
    #1
    Well we are redoing are computer room so our performa has been relocated. I was able to open her up and here are some pics of the mobo and where it is currently residing. Its new job is to serve as a claneder and note taking device. 7 years old and still chuggin!
     
  2. macrumors 68040

    Macmaniac

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2001
    Messages:
    3,341
    Location:
    A tiny spec in the "Garden State", 1 square mile i
    #2
    Close up of some of the chips, never knew AT&T made made chips!
     
  3. macrumors 68040

    Macmaniac

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2001
    Messages:
    3,341
    Location:
    A tiny spec in the "Garden State", 1 square mile i
    #3
    The Perfoma's new home on our kitchen!
     
  4. macrumors 68040

    Macmaniac

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2001
    Messages:
    3,341
    Location:
    A tiny spec in the "Garden State", 1 square mile i
    #4
    The Performa's new home in the kitchen!
     
  5. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2001
    Messages:
    72
    #5
    lol.. out of all the places in your home.. the kitchen :p
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2001
    Messages:
    605
    Location:
    California
    #6
    Bathroom anyone?? =P
     
  7. macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    Messages:
    14,782
    #7
    One of the AT&T children has huge micoelectronics industry, problem is I have no idea what it's now called - and is probable scattered over several companies now or in a strange name now. (hint it's no longer Lucent or even Agere)

    Don't worry if you don't know what all the AT&T companies are or do anymore, even the shareholders who followed the fracturing are confused as to what the companies really do.
     
  8. macrumors 6502a

    ShaolinMiddleFinger

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2001
    Messages:
    745
    #8
    Oh wow! In the kitchen... Heh, I donated mine to the local high school.
     
  9. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Messages:
    549
    Location:
    Kellogg IA
    #9
    You mean to tell me that everyone doesn't have the Crapper Mac? What is there to do but browse the web or check the email on the turlet.....Or mabye we're just wierd down here in Podunk Nowhere.
     
  10. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Messages:
    387
    #10
    :confused:What version is that? I have a performa 6400/200 sitting right next to my PM 9500: see my profile. I use the performa for running code warrior. For some reason code warrior doesn't wan't to run on the 9500.:(

    -MacMaster
     
  11. macrumors 68000

    Spock

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Messages:
    1,530
    Location:
    Vulcan
    #11
    I have a Macintosh Classic in my Kithen I use it for a reminder, calender and recepi holder.
     
  12. macrumors 6502a

    menoinjun

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2001
    Messages:
    567
    #12
    i would love to have a new imac in the crapper with a wireless airport network for browsing the internet and such.

    -Pete
     
  13. macrumors 68020

    G4scott

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Messages:
    2,218
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #13
    mmm.. nubus... now those were the days... I have a performa 600 CD sitting in a junk pile. If anybody wants it, It's yours, keyboard and mouse (If I can find them) for $20 + shipping and handling... I think it still works...
     
  14. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Messages:
    93
    Location:
    Chicago, Illinois
    #14
    i found three and death

    yeah i found three Apple color composite IIe monitors and threw two off the fith story of a parking garage.

    Should i do the same to the third or no!!!!

    Someone want it???
     
  15. macrumors 68040

    Macmaniac

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2001
    Messages:
    3,341
    Location:
    A tiny spec in the "Garden State", 1 square mile i
    #15
    I have a 6300 CD 100mhz;) My mom has been using it quite often now, It feels so good to give an old machine a new life. She really does love that computer.
     
  16. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Messages:
    387
    #16
    Yeah...so do I. That's why I bought this old PM 9500 and am using my dad's old performa often. The PM is over 5 years old and the performa is even older I think. I like the old apples. They are hardy, reliable, and have stood the test of time...:) And it's pretty fun to mess with them:D (I ment that in a good way of course):D
     
  17. macrumors 68040

    Macmaniac

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2001
    Messages:
    3,341
    Location:
    A tiny spec in the "Garden State", 1 square mile i
    #17
    Update: I re-attached the 2500 Color Stylewriter to the computer and it still works to. It sits on the top of the CPU so you can get an idea of how it looks.
    It now has a new job to provide musical entertainment in the kitchen using Apple Audio CD Player;)
     
  18. macrumors 6502

    Zenith

    Joined:
    May 18, 2001
    Messages:
    300
    Location:
    Norway
    #18
    We use our ol' 7100/80 as an ASIP server. In fact, it's over eight years old now :D

    Of course, we've upgraded it with a NewerTech G3 240 Mhz card... :p
     
  19. macrumors 65816

    groovebuster

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2002
    Messages:
    1,192
    Location:
    3rd rock from the sun...
    #19
    Macintosh LC

    I donated my old Macintosh LC to my step-father, who is using it as a word processing machine (with a StyleWriter II). He doesn't have any need for the Internet, so this little puppy is perfect for his stuff, running system 7.5 with MS Word 5.1 and Excel 4.0 on it. I just replaced the HD, because it was a little bit too small (40MB) and loud by a used 500MB HD from my old PowerMac 7500 (which is also still in use by a friend).

    Oh... and of course the battery on the mobo had to be changed once, but that was nothing. It still works perfectly every day with a cheap 15" monitor using an adapter. :)

    Good ole days! :)

    groovebuster
     
  20. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Messages:
    9
    Location:
    reno, Nv
    #20
    Throwingthings

    I've done that to a toilet, a sink, and a cupboard witha small club called the motor vehicle confederation. Fun, Fun, fun.
     
  21. macrumors 65816

    groovebuster

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2002
    Messages:
    1,192
    Location:
    3rd rock from the sun...
    #21
    Re: Throwingthings

    Yeah, that's really fun! :)

    But a friend of mine did that with a toilet that was full of ****. The construction workers were to lazy to go always downstairs to ****, so they did that into that toilet bowl right under the roof that wasn't installed anymore. My buddy had to clean up the place after everything was almost finished and he didn't really feel like carrying that thing down all the stairs... so he just dropped it down (6 Floors, 13 feet high ceilings).

    BOOM!!!!!

    That was literally a ****-bomb!

    But also a bad idea... the **** was flying all around, and the fassade of the house looked... well ... like a chocolate chip cookie all the way up to the second floor! *yuck* Oh boy.. he was in trouble! At least his insurance paid for cleaning the house, but he never worked again for that company! I wonder why!?!? ;)

    groovebuster
     
  22. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Messages:
    9
    Location:
    reno, Nv
    #22
    we're out of stuff to throw, but still lookin'
     
  23. macrumors 6502a

    Geert

    Joined:
    May 28, 2001
    Messages:
    513
    Location:
    .be
    #23
    hehehe, that would be my preferable spot also.
     

Share This Page