Performance Issues

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Kee123, Jan 6, 2007.

  1. Kee123 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    #1
    Hi all, I've recently been having some weird performance issues on my 2 month old Macbook 1.83ghz 512mb and I'm hoping someone can help.

    I've done nothing different to the Macbook than I normally do (not that I'm aware of anyway) and today I've noticed some freezing and hanging when doing different things. At first I just thought it was under a heavy load after running Photoshop and other apps, but after a restart I noticed the freezing again, then I realised that it happens everytime I cmd+tab to switch between apps, the whole screen would freeze but I'm still able to move the cursor, it unfreezes after a minute or so.
    Another issue, probably related, is when I open FrontRow, it's severly laggy, taking up to a few minutes to respond and frequently freezing.

    The startup time has severly increased too, the login box normally appears straight away, but now it takes minutes to appear.

    I've noticed nothing wrong with CPU Usage and Memory etc.

    Hopefully someone can help, thanks.
     
  2. Compile 'em all macrumors 601

    Compile 'em all

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    #2
    - Applications>utilities>Disk utility>Repair Permissions+Verify Disk.
    - Check if any updates are pending in software update.
    - Make sure nothing is hogging CPU time. Terminal>type-in top (or use Activity Monitor).
    - 1 GB of RAMs to run tiger smoothly is recommended.
     
  3. Compile 'em all macrumors 601

    Compile 'em all

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    #3
    Try as well Perferences->accounts->login items and remove any startup items you don't use.
     
  4. Kee123 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    #4
    - Tried that, didn't fix it.
    - No updates
    - Checked, it's fine.
    - 512MB Ram has allowed it to run completely smoothly for over 2 months now.
     
  5. Compile 'em all macrumors 601

    Compile 'em all

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    #5
    Check if you haven't run out of HD space, make sure you have at least a couple of gigs free. Try as well Mac janitor.

    If that doesn't work for you then I am afraid I have ran out of ideas :eek:. May be some other macrumors members have something new to add.
     
  6. Willis macrumors 68020

    Willis

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Location:
    What feels like the middle of nowhere
    #6
    I have a similar issue, but only when opening time and date in system prefences... it hangs like crazy. takes a good 2-3 minutes to load it up.
     
  7. Attonine macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Location:
    Fujairah, UAE
    #7
    I have the freezing with time and date too. I had my hard drive replaced by Apple last Teusday, and since then, with the new OS X install I have had this issue. Can't find a fix though.
     
  8. Kee123 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
  9. Compile 'em all macrumors 601

    Compile 'em all

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    #9
    I am afraid you will have to do a fresh OS X install then :(. If the problem still persists then take your MB to Apple.
     
  10. Kee123 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    #10
    Hmm ok, is there away to do a fresh install and still keep my files/apps?
     
  11. Compile 'em all macrumors 601

    Compile 'em all

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    #11
    Yes. It is called Archive and Install; an option when doing a new install.
     
  12. g-7 macrumors 6502

    g-7

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Location:
    Poland
    #12
    512 MB on an Intel Mac? :eek:

    It should be strictly forbidden to sell those machines with anything below 1GB.
    Really, please do upgrade RAM. 512 MB is strangling your Mac, making
    the dynamic_pager go crazy saving and reading swap files.

    Open the Activity Monitor application and take a look at "Page ins/outs"
    in "System Memory" tab at the bottom. If the "Page outs" number is higher than
    "Page ins", lack of RAM is the issue.
     

Share This Page