Permissions for Applications folder

Discussion in 'OS X Mountain Lion (10.8)' started by mzayats, Oct 17, 2012.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2012
    #1
    Since the upgrade to Mountain Lion, I have problems dragging Apps into the Applications folder.

    I have turned off Gatekeeper by changing the settings to allow any source for the apps. I can indeed run the apps form DMGs, but if I try dragging them into Applications I get "The operation can't be completed, because you don't have permission to access some of the items".

    Interestingly, I have no problem to drag a regular file, like PowerPoint presentation, into Applications.

    any ideas?
     
  2. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    #2
    Have you run Repair Disk Permissions in Disk Utility ? That is usually my first step in permission problems.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2012
    #3
    tried permissions repair

    Fixed quite a lot of permissions inconsistencies, but didn't solve the applications folder issue...
     
  4. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    #4
    Searching with Google and on Apple's support forums it seems a lot of people have this problem when they try to drag an app while one with the same name is already in the apps folder. Is that your case? Like if Skype is there you try to drag a newer version of Skype it gives the error? A work around seems to be to drag the original app to the trash first.

    There are too many threads to read, but if your curious search. I just searched using, "The operation can't be completed, because you don't have permission to access some of the items"
     
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2012
    #5
    Logging out and in after permissions repairs did the trick.

    Thanks a lot for the help!
     
  6. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    #6
    That works, I was going to suggest a restart right after, I heard that helps sometimes.

    You're welcome. A simple solution is always best :D
     

Share This Page