Personal Experiance w/ TV on iMac

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by onlyONE, Sep 3, 2006.

1. onlyONE macrumors member

Jun 14, 2006
    I am looking to add TV to my iMac, because it seems to be a more logical solution for me. I'm a college student with limited dorm space, wanting to watch and record TV from my university's cable connection. I have been looking at at various solutions, mainly from El Gato. What are your experiances? Has anyone used the Hybrid model from El Gato? The one that uses a USB connection? This particular one seems really cool, but I can't find any personal experiance information. Any info on the Hybrid model by El Gato or any other TV solution by any other manufacterer would be really great. Thanks guys!
  2. Queso macrumors G4

Mar 4, 2006
    Not exactly the hybrid, but I do have the EyeTV for DTT from ElGato which has the same form factor. Originally I had a few problems with the signal strength being too low for some channels to display properly, but the 2.3.1 update released last week has fixed that. The Full Screen Mode is great and easily accessible by use of the Apple Remote (you hold down the Menu button). I have a 2m USB cable out the back of my iMac so the EyeTV is hidden down by the TV socket which the "stick" models allow you to do.

Definitely worth the money if you're wanting a TV solution. The Miglia products also use the EyeTV software, so you have a raft of options to choose from if you decide the Hybrid isn't the one for you.
  3. onlyONE thread starter macrumors member

Jun 14, 2006