Phone number not showing in iTunes

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by brianld, Jul 30, 2008.

  1. macrumors member

    brianld

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle
    #1
    Maybe I'm losing my mind, but I seem to recall seeing my phone number show up in iTunes when I connected my iPhone once upon a time. I noticed the other day that it no longer shows up.

    Curious if anyone can tell me if this is because of 2.0 software update, has to do with 3G iPhones, or something else? It doesn't affect me too much since I obviously know my own phone number, but was just something I noticed.

    Screenshot below to illustrate what I'm referring to.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. macrumors 603

    gauchogolfer

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Location:
    American Riviera
    #2
    That's interesting. I'm pretty sure that my Mac at home is displaying the phone number properly.

    What OS are you running?
     
  3. macrumors 6502

    pyrodex

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #3
    Are you running itunes 7.7?
     
  4. macrumors 68040

    nickspohn

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    #4
    1) Turn the iPhone on / off, reconnect to iTunes.
    2) Make sure you're running iTunes 7.7
    3) Backup/Restore the iPhone.


    If those don't work, post back.
     
  5. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Location:
    Tokyo (London for the holidays!)
    #5
    Is that a US thing?
    I don't seem to have it here in London with O2.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors member

    brianld

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle
    #6
    Sorry - should've realized I needed to provide additional details. This is on MS Vista Business (32-bit) :eek:

    Running iTunes 7.7 (just re-installed yesterday to be sure it wasn't a bug w/ my iTunes install)

    I've tried restarting the phone, restoring from backup, and even setting up as new phone.
     
  7. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Location:
    Bartlesville, OK
    #7
    I have one even better for ya!

    My wife has her own 16g White Iphone, and her own Vista PC.
    Her Itunes shows her phone # when phone is docked.

    My 16g Black Iphone when docked on my own PC with windows Vista, doesn't show my phone #???

    Now here is the kicker... I still have my OLD first gen Iphone, and when I dock it and look at Itunes, it DOES show my phone #??????

    I actually have had them both docked at the same time, my old & new Iphone, and when I have Itunes open, I can switch back and forth between the 2 by chosing either one on the left hand column. New Iphone doesn't show #, Old Iphone does.

    What is up with that? Especially when my wifes 3G does show her # on her Itunes?
     
  8. thread starter macrumors member

    brianld

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle
    #8
    Interesting ... I do remember seeing my phone number show up in iTunes for my 1st-gen iPhone (don't have it any longer).

    Complete coincidence that I too have a 16gb Black that's not showing the phone #? :eek:
     
  9. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Location:
    Bartlesville, OK
    #9
    I think the common factor is more likely it has to do with previously having a first gen. Iphone on the same computer/Itunes.
     
  10. macrumors 68020

    Ntombi

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Location:
    Bostonian exiled in SoCal
    #10
    Interesting, because I noticed last night that my number didn't show, but I couldn't remember if it had in the past. 3G with iTunes 7.7 here, and I never had an original iPhone. :confused:
     
  11. macrumors 68040

    Cynicalone

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Location:
    Okie land
    #11
    It show's my phone number. I'm running Mac OS 10.5.4, iTunes 7.7, and have the latest firmware installed on my iPhone 3G. Might be another bug of the 2.0 software.
     
  12. macrumors 604

    SFStateStudent

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco California, USA
    #12
    ^^^ Same with mine, it's all good...:cool:
     
  13. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Location:
    London, UK
    #13
    it is to do with the sim cards

    if your phone number is stored on the sim card then it will come up in iTunes and it will be shown first within contracts (iphone) as 'My Number'

    -if your iPhone came with a sim card then it will have the number
    -if o2 had to put a sim in your phone but the sim was not programmed with a number (universal sim) then it wont have your number
    -if you upgraded but had an old sim, 2year+ then it wont show up

    how i figured this out..

    i was on an o2 simplicity contract for about 5months with a number that had been ported in. So my sim did not have my number stored on it, therefore it didnt show up in iTunes when i upgraded to the iPhone 3G from my American iPhone 2g.

    i then tried a new pay as you go sim in it and found the number showed up

    i though it might be that my sim is just old, requested o2 send me a new sim. They sent me a universal sim and said just to ring them when i received it and the would activate the sim to my number. the number did not show up in itunes with the new sim

    this led me to conclude that if a number is assigned to a sim during the manufacturing process, it will appear in iTunes. if a new number is ported to that sim or the sim does not have a number assigned during manufacturing - it will not show up in itunes...
     
  14. macrumors 603

    gauchogolfer

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Location:
    American Riviera
    #14
    ^^ I'm not sure what the OP's problem is, but I don't think this explains it.
     
  15. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
    #15
    Doesn't explain it, I had a replacement sim from my original iPhone, didn't show the number on that one, but when I upgraded and kept that sim for iPhone 3G, it shows it. I think it's more to do with whether its the only sim card that been in the phone. When I change the sim in the phone it doesn't show its own number at all then.
     
  16. thread starter macrumors member

    brianld

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle
    #16
    No "problem" per se, just trying to identify why it wasn't showing up in iTunes.

    To follow up on what Aravintht posted regarding it being related to the SIM - you could be on to something there, as my phone number doesn't show up in my contacts list any longer either, though I had just attributed that to the fact that I was now using MS Exchange / ActiveSync.

    FWIW, when I went from my 1st-gen iPhone to my new one, I didn't swap SIMs. In other words, the AT&T guy just activated my new 3G iPhone with the SIM that came in it, and told me to toss my old SIM.

    -Brian
     
  17. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
    #17
    If you use another phone, like a sony erricson there is a setting to type the line number of your sim card. I did enter that information before I put it in my new iPhone 3g, although it didn't show when I put it in my old iPhone.
     
  18. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Location:
    Boston
    #18
    WHO CARES??? haha
     
  19. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    #19
    2 iphones, my iphone does not show the number, my wife's does (both in itunes and in contacts)

    the only difference is that my number was ported over from sprint and her's was a new at&t number....

    not a big deal tho...
     
  20. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    #20
    my iphone does not show my number. When I first connected my iPhone to the computer it asked me if I wanted to restore it from a backup which I pressed yes but what I restored it from was my old 1st gen iPhone with a another number.
     
  21. macrumors 68000

    musio

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    #21
    if you can, how to you view your own number on your iphone?
     
  22. thread starter macrumors member

    brianld

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle
    #22
    If it's functioning "normally", it will show up in the top of your Contacts list.
     
  23. thread starter macrumors member

    brianld

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle
    #23
    RESOLUTION: Get a new SIM

    I managed to solve this issue today by getting a new SIM at the AT&T store. Phone number shows up at top of Contacts list, and in iTunes as well.

    One item of note is that "My Number: ..." doesn't show up when I access the Contacts app directly from the home screen, but does show up when I go in to it via Phone, then select Contacts from the bottom. Weird, as I thought they were one and the same and essentially pointed to the same thing, though it must be slightly different in this case.
     
  24. macrumors 68000

    musio

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    #24
  25. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
    #25
    I have my number show up on my iTunes and throughout the menus in the phone.

    (From UK, on O2 contract)

    I have had a number show up when I unlocked my old phone as well. But only with one specific number otherwise it wouldn't show the number.
     

Share This Page