Photoshop 7.0 in OS X 10.4 ??

Discussion in 'Design and Graphics' started by SpaceMusic_Guy, Oct 6, 2007.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2003
    Location:
    Mpls., MN
    #1
    Does anyone out there know if Photoshop 7.0 will run in OS X 10.4 ?? I'm currently running in 10.3.9 with no issues but would like to update my OS to 10.4 but would very much like to avoid having to pay for upgrades to my existing Graphics Apps.

    And while I'm thinking of it......how about Illustrator 10. Will that run in 10.4 without any problems ??

    Anybody out there running these versions in 10.4 ??
     
  2. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Location:
    Michigan
    #2
    Yep! They both work.

    I have both Photoshop 7 and Illustrator 10 running on a G5 with OS 10.4.10... they both work just as well as they did under 10.3...or OS 9, for that matter =')

    Good Luck!
     
  3. macrumors 68020

    Macky-Mac

    Joined:
    May 18, 2004
    #3
    I used photoshop 7 with OS 10.4 for a while before i bought CS 2...I don't remember having any trouble with it. I still use Illustrator 10 and while I don't use it a lot, I haven't had any issues
     
  4. macrumors 65816

    AlexisV

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #4
    10.5 Leopard comes out this month, probably on 30th October.

    I'd wait until then if you can and buy that instead.
     
  5. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    #5
    How about 10.5 Leopard?

    I can confirm that it works great on Tiger, even on an Intel. My question is has anyone tested Photoshop 7 on Leopard?
     
  6. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    #6
    Ps 7 does not run in 10.5

    I tested Leopard yesterday on my G5's external FireWire drive. Photoshop 7 will not launch. I'm running Ps CS 3 now, but I occasionally need to run ImageReady 7 and same thing there...no luck :(
     
  7. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2006
    Location:
    Jakarta
    #7
    OH, that's too bad.

    Does anyone know about Photoshop CS (1)? I have that, can't live without it and would like to use Leopard :)
     
  8. macrumors 68000

    TheReef

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Location:
    NSW, Australia.
    #8
    Wow, that just saved me buying version 7 #phew#

    I'm not sure if it would make a difference in Leopard, but would it work if you copied it to the startup disk?

    What about CS2 on leopard? :eek:
     
  9. macrumors 68000

    GSMiller

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #9
    CS2 runs fine.
     
  10. macrumors 68020

    freeny

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Location:
    Location: Location:
    #10
    According to this article, CS2 is NOT built for leopard.

    Adobe's quote on CS2 in Leopard:
    "Likely to encounter issues for which there is no resolution"

    Whatever that means, only Adobe knows :rolleyes:
     
  11. macrumors 68000

    TheReef

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Location:
    NSW, Australia.
    #11
    I installed the demo of CS1 from one of my old computer magazine disks. It seams to be working without problems :)
     
  12. macrumors 6502a

    Xeem

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Location:
    Minnesota
    #12
    I'm also chiming in to say that Photoshop 7 doesn't work in Leopard on my iBook (I'm running it on my startup disk, and it worked great in Tiger), which is really annoying. I'll have to look for a workaround.
     
  13. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    #13
    OS X says i have missing files

    I've tried loading and updating Photoshop 7.0.1 in OS 10.4.1 and i keep getting error messages that OX x cannot find some of the files.

    any ideas??

    thx
     
  14. macrumors 6502

    That-Is-Bull

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    Location:
    Edmond, Oklahoma
    #14
    There's a few small glitches, but it works.
     
  15. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    #15
    Care to expand on what some of the glitches are that you have found??? Thx!
     
  16. macrumors 68000

    GSMiller

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #16
    It was designed for PowerPC processors but runs fine under Rosetta, just a little slow.

    Adobe, being the smart little company they are, didn't update CS2 to run natively on Intel processors so that way users thinking they would get better performance would pay the price to upgrade to CS3. Plus they were just too lazy to even test it on Intel obviously.
     
  17. macrumors 6502

    That-Is-Bull

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    Location:
    Edmond, Oklahoma
    #17
    Sometimes with input menus like opacity and roundednessification, if you type in a number to change it, it'll show the new number you typed in, but when you make the rounded rectangle or whatever, it'll still be as round as it was before unless you click and drag.

    Hard to explain, but they're just minor annoyances and easy to get around.
     

Share This Page