Photoshop CS 2 - Program Error?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by dpaanlka, Aug 12, 2006.

  1. dpaanlka macrumors 601

    dpaanlka

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Location:
    Illinois
    #1
    I now cannot do anything in Photoshop (open files, create new files) as it gives me an error that says it couldn't complete the task because of a "program error"

    This after installing a new hard drive into my PowerBook and transferring the old contents over via disk utility's restore option.

    What's going on here?
     
  2. apfhex macrumors 68030

    apfhex

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    Northern California
  3. dpaanlka thread starter macrumors 601

    dpaanlka

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Location:
    Illinois
    #3
    I reinstalled the entire CS 2 suite today and it still doesn't work.

    It's bizarre how all the other CS 2 apps - including ImageReacy, seem to work fine. Only Photoshop is displaying this behavior.
     
  4. DelGaudio macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    #4
    As of this week, I'm having the same problem. Photoshop throws a "Program Error" when attempting to open a file and when creating a new file. Photoshop opens but wont do anything.

    It originally started last week w/ PS 7. I then installed the CS2 suite thinking it would fix it. Photoshop worked once fine then went back to "Program Error".

    I've tried deleting the preferences folder and the com.adobe.Photoshop.plis, still l nothing. I'm running 10.4.7 (w/ 512MB RAM, crippled memory bay, whole other issue).

    Is it a possibility that Photoshop would throw a program error from insufficient memory? Does anyone has any other ideas?
     
  5. iMeowbot macrumors G3

    iMeowbot

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    #5
    Did you all try the old standby (hold down apple-option-shift while starting Photoshop, then yes to the "delete" prompt)? That very often fixes it.
     
  6. DelGaudio macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    #6
    No such luck (on my machine anyway, dpaanlka?).

    That's a good trick though. I hadn't heard of that one.
     
  7. DelGaudio macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    #8
    Yes! Something worked. Thanks for the link to the support page. I've been looking for that all morning.

    As recommended, I deleted all the printers in the System Prefs and things seem to be back in order. Photoshop opens files and can create new ones. I haven't reinstalled the printers but I wasn't using most of the ones in there anyway. It could have been a combination of the settings needing to be reset and the printers needing to be rebuilt? That's my guess anyway.

    At least now I can get some work done. Thanks so much for you advice!
     
  8. dpaanlka thread starter macrumors 601

    dpaanlka

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Location:
    Illinois
    #9
    Yeah I deleted printers and prefs as well, and suddenly it worked.

    Didn't work when I only deleted prefs though.
     

Share This Page