Photoshop CS and Tiger Problem

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Xnet, Apr 27, 2005.

  1. Xnet macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2003
    #1
    I just upgraded to Tiger via an archive and install and I can no longer open Photoshop CS files via double click or click and drag onto dock icon.

    They will however open will open via
    Photoshop>File>Open or
    Photoshop>File>Browse

    This is really frustrating so any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
    I have deleted the Photoshop CS prefs to no avail. It is not a problem with any of the other CS apps.
     
  2. Pittsax macrumors 6502

    Pittsax

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2004
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    #2
    Are they still set to open via Photoshop in the Get Info window?

    EDIT: I just realized it wouldn't affect whether they open or not by dragging to the dock icon. It still might help with double-clicking though.
     
  3. andysmith macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Location:
    West Mids, UK
  4. eyeon macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2004
    Location:
    Montana, USA
    #4
    I did an archive and install of panther a while back and had the exact same problem. I just had to reinstall Adobe CS, and the problem was fixed. An annoyance, I realize, but it did the trick for me. This is not to say that it will work in Tiger, however, as I did this while running Panther.

    Good luck.
     
  5. andysmith macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Location:
    West Mids, UK
    #5
    Cheers, I'll have a go at that later. I can't remember the installer very well, does it have a reinstall option? Or will I need to remove it completely and install it again?
     
  6. mnkeybsness macrumors 68030

    mnkeybsness

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2001
    Location:
    Moneyapolis, Minnesota
    #6
    There's a help file on the Adobe website about this...

    SOLUTION
     
  7. Lacero macrumors 604

    Lacero

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #7
    Running Photoshop CS 2 solves the problem for me. Hopefully, Adobe will make the program available to the general public in time for Tiger's release. Try re-installing Photoshop for now.
     
  8. andysmith macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Location:
    West Mids, UK
    #8
    Cheers :)

    Does anyone have a copy of this file? I've already deleted the previous systems folder :(
     
  9. macstudent macrumors 6502

    macstudent

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    #9
    Here is the file, unzip it and put it in your folder. I hope this works
     
  10. andysmith macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Location:
    West Mids, UK
  11. Xnet thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2003
  12. andysmith macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Location:
    West Mids, UK
    #12
    I've made an installer package for the fix if anyone wants it. I was mainly playing about with the Tiger development tools, but I figured it might be useful to someone :)
     

    Attached Files:

  13. Platform macrumors 68030

    Platform

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    #13
    Yes that is good but not everyone here has CS 2 :p
     
  14. macstudent macrumors 6502

    macstudent

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
  15. Over Achiever macrumors 68000

    Over Achiever

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    Toledo, OH, formerly Twin Cities, MN
    #15
    Thank You!

    Beautiful work andysmith, simple and effective ^_^

    -OA
     
  16. powerbook911 macrumors 68040

    powerbook911

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    #16
    Awesome. I owe many thanks to you! I moved the file myself as Adobe suggested, but it didn't work. Your installer fixed it though! Now I can enjoy Tiger again!
     
  17. sphereboy macrumors 6502

    sphereboy

    Joined:
    May 10, 2002
    Location:
    MIAMI.FL.USA
    #17
    Thanks guys. Like always the MacRumors:Forums save my day! and hours of frustration. This should be Stickied!
     

Share This Page