Photoshop CS2 + Quad = PAINFULLY SLOW

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Alenate, May 18, 2006.

  1. Alenate macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 18, 2006
    #1
    I'm new to this forum (hopefully this is the right place to post my question). I'm also new to Mac.

    I have the Quad G5. It's a beautiful machine. But my Photoshop CS2 (9.0.1) runs painfully slow.

    Photoshop CS2 on my PC w/ Intel Xeon processors runs like a dream.

    I've searched the Internet for information on this problem. Haven't found much. Can anyone else out there sympathize with me???
     
  2. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #2
    Welcome to MR

    Need more details: The first and most obvious -- how much RAM do you have installed? PS and OSX together really need a minimum of 1.5 GB
     
  3. BakedBeans macrumors 68040

    BakedBeans

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Location:
    What's Your Favorite Posish
  4. dpaanlka macrumors 601

    dpaanlka

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Location:
    Illinois
    #4
    This almost sounds like a very well thought out troll. Photoshop CS on a Quad "painful"?? Sorry, I cannot sympathize. Photoshop feels perfectly fast even on my G4. You have one of the best Photoshop machines in existance. There is either something seriously wrong with your computer, or you're making it up.

    But, of course you might not be. As CanadaRAM said, how much RAM do you have? Also, how much free space on your hard drive do you have left? Is your installation of Photoshop a full and complete install, so that it most benefits from the G5 and it's processors?
     
  5. ATD macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2005
    #5
    Check your memory settings Photoshop/Preferences/Memory. Also, Adobe just came out with a new update a few days ago, check there too.



     
  6. Alenate thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 18, 2006
    #6
    No trolling here.

    I checked my PS preferences ...

    Available RAM: 2455MB
    Maximum Used By PS: 70%
     
  7. Alenate thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 18, 2006
    #7
  8. dpaanlka macrumors 601

    dpaanlka

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Location:
    Illinois
    #8
    Hmm I never heard of that, very strange. Sorry to have doubted you. Hopefully Adobe can fix this, as I really 100% don't think it's a problem with the G5 being slow. Especially a Quad.
     
  9. Alenate thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 18, 2006
    #9
    I don't think it's the G5, either.

    Yeah, it's quite depressing.

    I upgraded to PS 9.0.1, which Adobe released a few days ago. Honestly, I think the problem is now worse. :(
     
  10. ATD macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2005
    #10


    DO you have to run CS2? I have CS1 & 2 but I run CS1 because of the many crashes I had with CS2. I'm also running it on a quad.


     
  11. Alenate thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 18, 2006
    #11
    I wish. I have versions 5 & 7.

    Will v7 run on OSX?

    I'm going to call Adobe. I'll let you guys know what they say.
     
  12. ATD macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2005
    #12


    7 runs on a quad but not very well. They do not play well together. 7 runs on a dual fine, not sure why.


     
  13. Alenate thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 18, 2006
    #13
    Just got off the phone with an Adobe "specialist." Basically he told me that it's a "redraw issue" - how fast my particular video card refreshes the screen.

    (I have the NVIDIA GeForce 7800GT).

    So, I asked him if it's solely a video card issue, and he was like, "Well, it's in how Photoshop and the video card work together."


    I'm bummed. I use PS all the time. My friend has an iMac w/ CS2, and it's lightening fast.
     
  14. dpaanlka macrumors 601

    dpaanlka

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Location:
    Illinois
    #14
    Sounds more like a service rep that knows nothing about what you speak. I personally find Adobe's Mac support to be lacking. As if they don't really care anymore about the Mac.
     
  15. 4God macrumors 68020

    4God

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Location:
    My Mac
    #15
    How 'bout energy settings? Have you set your processor setting to high? Do you have other programs open? PS runs spankin' fast on my quad.
     
  16. Alenate thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 18, 2006
    #16
    Spankin' fast? You're kidding. Which video card do you have? The Adobe guy made it sound like it's an issue specific to my video card.

    Here's what I mean by "painfully slow" ... I'm using the Stamp Tool ... I use the "[" and "]" keys to increase and decrease the size of the stamp ... each time I press the "[" key I can seriously say "one thousand one" before the stamp increases in size one notch.

    On my friend's iMac it's instantaneous. Same with my PC.

    I'm new to Mac, so I'm not sure how to alter the energy settings.
     
  17. ATD macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2005
    #17

    He is clueless, the 7800 is a fast card.




     
  18. dpaanlka macrumors 601

    dpaanlka

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Location:
    Illinois
    #18
    Go to the Apple Menu, choose "System Preferences" click "Energy Saver" on the second row...

    Click on "Options"

    You'll see a processor pull down menu. Options are Automatic, Highest, Reduced... choose Highest (it is a desktop, what do you need so save energy for theres no battery). On the reduced setting, the processor(s) run(s) at half clock speed. On automatic, the processor(s) run(s) at half clock speed unless the computer *thinks* it needs to be faster. Sometimes it doesnt get it right.

    You will also probably want to shut off "put the hard disks to sleep if possible" under the sleep section...
     
  19. matthews1492 macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2005
    #19
    how about ram

    There is a known problem about running photoshop on mac's with over 4 gigs of ram where it bogs down the performance. Maybe check that out?
     
  20. Alenate thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 18, 2006
    #20
    Okay, my processor was set to Automatic, so I switched it to Highest. I also turned off "put the hard disk to sleep if possible."

    Then I restarted my Mac.

    No difference. Maybe a slight, slight increase in speed, but it still drags.


    Matthew - I have 2.5g of RAM.
     
  21. dpaanlka macrumors 601

    dpaanlka

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Location:
    Illinois
    #21
    Maybe you have a bad stick of RAM? Try removing all but one, and running Photoshop on each indivdual stick of RAM one at a time.

    Also, how much hard disk space is left on your drive? If it's very low, this greatly effects the performance of Mac OS X.
     
  22. Alenate thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 18, 2006
    #22
    I have a 250g hard drive with about 140g left on it.

    I'll try removing some of the RAM.
     
  23. dpaanlka macrumors 601

    dpaanlka

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Location:
    Illinois
    #23
    Also what sort of peripherals do you have attached? Also, try running Activity Monitor in the Applications -> Utilities folder and see if anything is taking up a lot of CPU time.
     
  24. iGary Guest

    iGary

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    Randy's House
    #24
    Hey before we go swapping RAM and ripping the computer apart, how about uninstalling and reinstalling PS, repairing permissions, running scripts and resseting PRAM?
     
  25. Alenate thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 18, 2006
    #25
    Honestly, I have no idea how to repair permissions, run scripts, or reset PRAM. Is it difficult to do?

    I'd really like to know if any other Quad G5 users with the 7800GT video card are experiencing similar slowdowns in PS?
     

Share This Page