Photoshop is crashing my wife's iMac G5

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by ceek, Nov 30, 2009.

  1. macrumors member

    ceek

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Location:
    NY
    #1
    Aside from wanting to maintain my status as super-husband in my wife's eyes, I desperately need to find out why Photoshop CS4 is crashing my wife's computer. She downloaded it last night as a gift from her sister-in-law (yey!), and I just sat down to give her a tutorial. Alas, every time I try and Place a picture on a new canvas, the entire computer locks up (except for the mouse icon). Not even Command/Option/Esc will shake it. Any ideas?

    G5, 10.5.8, 250Gb HD w/ 81Gb free, 2Gb SDRAM

    .: ceek :.
     
  2. macrumors 68020

    peskaa

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
    #2
    CS4 on a G5? Err, good luck with that one. Adobe system requirements ask for a dual CPU G5 at the minimum, not the single as found in the iMacs. It's locking up as it doesn't have enough grunt.
     
  3. Moderator emeritus

    Hellhammer

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #3
    Have you restarted the computer after installation? Also, repair your permissions with Disk Utility. If that doesn't help, reinstall the Photoshop
     
  4. thread starter macrumors member

    ceek

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Location:
    NY
    #4
    Hmmmm, OK. Thanks for the info. I run it fine on my 2008 iMac in my office.

    I'll try repairing disc permissions and let you know.

    .:ceek:.
     
  5. macrumors 68020

    Macky-Mac

    Joined:
    May 18, 2004
    #5
    hmmm, according to the system requirements that Adobe posts here, they don't require a dual G5 :confused:
     
  6. macrumors 68020

    peskaa

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
    #6
    I eat my hat, although I swear I'd read dual G5s only. That said, a 1.8Ghz G5 is going to be pretty low in terms of performance, no matter how you look at it. The OP's description sounds pretty much like too much load being placed on the system.
     
  7. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    #7
    I'm running a PC with similar specs and CS4 works fine. hmm
     
  8. Moderator emeritus

    Hellhammer

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #8
    He/she should check his Activity Monitor so the usage of CPU and RAM are visible.

    It would be slow instead of a total lockup if it's hardware related
     
  9. macrumors 68000

    Jason Beck

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Location:
    Cedar City, Utah
  10. Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    #10
    Is this the only repeatable instance of Photoshop locking up? Can you create new documents and work with those i.e. drawing or painting on new layers, running filters etc?
     

Share This Page