Photoshop Keeps Quitting

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Stevenson1, Jul 16, 2008.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Location:
    South Africa
    #1
    Hi,

    I recently bought a new Mac Pro G5. Everytime I start it up, I launch Photoshop CS2 and I get a message that The Application has unexpectedly quit, Close, Reopen or Report.

    However, I tried reinstalling CS2 but still it does the same. How do I go about this.
     
  2. macrumors regular

    jimleszczynski

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Location:
    Mount Pleasant, MI
    #2
    Read this on Adobe Website!

    "Photoshop CS2 is no hit on an Intel machine (all new iMacs are Intel machines) as it runs in emulation mode in Rosetta and it will also not get updated for compatibilities with Leopard."

    Also, if it is a non legal version (bootleg) copy of CS2. You may experience problems. Hopefully it is legal and you can obtain the CS3 upgrade for relatively cheap.

    Good Luck
     
  3. macrumors 68040

    trainguy77

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    #3
    I would try deleting the preference files from your user library folder.
     
  4. macrumors 65816

    SmurfBoxMasta

    #4


    What machine is this :confused:

    If you have an actual G5, which is a PPC machine, then the above warning from Adobe does NOT apply.......and you have another problem of some type..... CS2 runs GREAT on PPC machines G4's & G5's :D

    IF OTOH, you have an INTEL-powered mac, you would be well advised to do some googling on this subject, as there is alot of postings about it :)
     
  5. macrumors 65816

    agentphish

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    #5
    MacPro = Intel = CS3
    PowerMac = PPC G5 = CS2

    It's that simple. CS2 on an Intel Mac is just plain bad.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Location:
    South Africa
    #6
    Hi, I have a Dual Core Intel Xeon, 3Gb of Ram, 2Ghz processor Speed and my Photoshop cs2 still quits.

    What must I do?

    Confused.

     
  7. macrumors regular

    therealmrbob

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    #7
    Ugrade to CS3...

    haha
     
  8. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Location:
    South Africa
    #8
    Can't save files as Jpeg's

    Hi there,

    Sometimes when I save Photoshop tiff files as jpeg's, I come across a message like this: could not save as "Steven.jpg" because of a program error.

    I still use Adobe Photoshop CS2 and the problems quiet often.

    How can I eradicate this kind of message? Please help

     
  9. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Location:
    South Africa
    #9
    Hi, I am still awaiting a response on the topic below. Please help asap as I have to give feedback to one of my clients.

    Thanks, Steven




     

Share This Page