Photoshop on New IMacs

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by yoshiii, Jan 17, 2006.

  1. yoshiii macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006
    #1
    Hello ,

    Well my boss now wants to order the new iMac duo instead of the IMac G5.
    Does anyone have any info how the Photoshop and Illustrator programs will work on the new IMac? Should we only go with the IMac G5's since it will be awhile before Adobe updates their software?

    Help please
     
  2. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
  3. BakedBeans macrumors 68040

    BakedBeans

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Location:
    What's Your Favorite Posish
    #3
    even under rosetta the InteliMacs are running it faster than the G5s did - intelimac is the way to go - then it will be AMAZING when its out universal.

    core duo imac photoshop test - 512 ram/128mb card = 57 seconds
    g5 1.9 (17inch) = 1m50s

    go for the intel unless you are looking at using the apple pro apps which are not available until march.
     
  4. BakedBeans macrumors 68040

    BakedBeans

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Location:
    What's Your Favorite Posish
    #4
    hmm, just going read that in depth.

    EDIT - testing hte imac with stock ram against the otherrs with 1gb and 4.5 gbs in - hardly fair.
     
  5. Blue Velvet Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    #5
    Just fractionally faster than my dual 1.42 G4. Heh-heh...
     
  6. BakedBeans macrumors 68040

    BakedBeans

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Location:
    What's Your Favorite Posish
    #6
    how much ram has yours got? 512 is way to little. plus its under rosetta - so not all that bad

    EDIT ok was that a sarcastic joke - i feel i may have been duped LOL :p
     
  7. Blue Velvet Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    #7
    2gb of big boy badness... still, that's just my home machine.
    My work G5 is much nicer.

    Edit: No sarcasm. 1:05 for the photoshop test.
     
  8. BakedBeans macrumors 68040

    BakedBeans

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Location:
    What's Your Favorite Posish
    #8
    1.05 - that nice. my friend got 1.12 on his xeon 3ghz (he seems to think its dual core - im not so sure)

    its still a very capable machine by the looks of it.

    im guessing the new imac is going to hit 40seconds without rosetta - at least hoping
     
  9. yoshiii thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006
    #9
    So does that mean its best to buy the IMac G5's now?
    I am guessing if we bought the new IMacs, we would be wasting money on buying Photoshop and the lot because we would have to upgrade at the end of the year.

    So to buy or not to buy?
     
  10. BakedBeans macrumors 68040

    BakedBeans

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Location:
    What's Your Favorite Posish
    #10
    it is fast enough under rosetta - honestly it is. you will have to max the ram in it to get it going really fast but intel imac is the best way to go in my opinion

    those tests show nothing - an imac with 512 of ram in photoshop is going to look bad against a dual 2.5 powerma with 4.5 of ram - its an unfair test and should be discarded
     
  11. jacobj macrumors 65816

    jacobj

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2003
    Location:
    Jersey
    #11
    I can't see how the PS tests can be erroneous, but it makes me laugh that the guy testing it uses XBench. I am not convinced by those tests in the least.

    Anyway, back on topic. A G5 appears to have a short-term benefit for PS over the Duo, but we are talking short-term. How long will the machine be operational? Six months, then I'd go for the G5, a year+ I'd go for the Duo. Somewhere in the middle and you could go either way.
     
  12. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #12
    The Intel iMac only has 0.5Gb of RAM. The G5 iMac as 1.0Gb and the PowerMac 4.5Gb. It's likely that with equal RAM the Intel iMac would preform better, but I would surmise not as well as the G5 until a native Photoshop is released.
     
  13. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #13
    Definetly. One thing Photoshop loves is loads of memory...I'll compare my powermac with my iMac when it arrives as they are both around the same spec and I'm hoping that the iMac will at least be very comparable, if it is or even better I'll be in high heaven :D
     
  14. Spectrum macrumors 6502a

    Spectrum

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #14
    I thought that (if nothing else is running) the amount of RAM above 512 had little to no effect in the photoshop test - it is basically a CPU crunch.

    I seem to remember 512MB 1.67 PBs getting the same score as mine with 2GB.
     
  15. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #15
    Really? Interesting.. Anyone able to shed light on this? :confused:
     
  16. BakedBeans macrumors 68040

    BakedBeans

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Location:
    What's Your Favorite Posish
    #16
    Photoshop is a RAM hog - it likes to suck up ram - 512 will give considerable slow down on a dual core/pro machine
     
  17. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #17
    Yep that's alway's been my experience too.. 2 gig (or more) is a nice figure for photoshop, especially when working with a large image, a high dpi and tons of layers.

    I can't believe that the test regardless of CPU strain doesn't benefit from extra memory..
     
  18. jacobj macrumors 65816

    jacobj

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2003
    Location:
    Jersey
    #18
    Yeah I noticed that afterwards... Fools rush in and all that...
     
  19. jacobj macrumors 65816

    jacobj

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2003
    Location:
    Jersey
    #19
    I may have missed something, but has Adobe actually given any delivery estimates on the Universal version of CS2?

    Also, I assume that only CS2 will be universal. Shame for me on CS1 :(
     
  20. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #20
    Not that I am aware of. There is the disturbing possibility that there will be universal CS2 and that the first universal version will be CS3...
     
  21. Spectrum macrumors 6502a

    Spectrum

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #21
    Well, I cannot speak for the experience of others, but if you peruse the photoshop test thread there are a number of PBs with 512 that score similarly to mine (around 2m20sec).

    Obviously, other photoshop filters, and _real_life_ tasks may behave far better with more RAM, but not apparently this test.

    I'm sure someone even brings this topic of RAM independence up in that thread.

     
  22. cecirdr macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    #22
    Only radial blur ran fast in emulation

    When I look at the tests, I notice that there might be a ram differnence that's not accounted for, but I also notice that the radial blur filter (used in the photoshop benchmarks here) runs radically faster in rosetta than any others. In the ars technica review, the radial blur filter ran *faster* in emulation than the iMac g5 ppc native version. Thus using only that one filter as a comparison is probably not going to be an accurate reflection of how photoshop will feel in day to day use.

    I never use that filter personally, so the fact that it behaves so differently than the rest makes it not a very valuable benchmark test by itself. The ars technica review uses other filters so it gives me a bit more to go on. To me it appears that the rosetta environment will be quite slow, but usable. Without getting my hands on it though, I can't tell whether I'll go stir crazy using photoshop within it for the several (or more) months required before universal binaries get released.

    Has anyone tried a new iMac with more typically used photoshop techniques and can report on how they feel....say rotate, highlights and shadows, unsharpmask, and a noise reduction plug-in?
     

Share This Page