Photoshop on Win XP Super slow?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by macrobat, Aug 31, 2006.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    #1
    I have read how photoshop cs2 on win xp runs faster but I am using a benchmark action and it runs about 2min 3sec on OSX but when I try the same one on windoze I have to shut down photoshop because it would take a hour! :mad: So my question is is there something not functioning correctly in windoze like the graph card, mem or something else I am totaly at a loss here
     
  2. MRU
    macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #2
    bootcamp or parallels?
     
  3. Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    #3
    What kind of Mac are you using? Without further info, I'm wondering if it has anything to do with scratch disk performance and the reported SATA hard-drive performance problems on certain Macs.

    Of course, it beggars the question how you have come about to have a version of Photoshop CS2 for each platform.
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    #4
    I did the famous "photoshop test" or whatever it is called on both CS2 Mac OS X and CS2 in Parallels. In Parallels, XP had 1GB devoted to it, and a separate hard drive image as a scratch disk on an external firewire drive.

    Rosetta was faster by about 30s.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    #5
    Sorry forgot about that I am using a mac pro 3ghz with 2gigs ram and using bootcamp with win xp pro sp2. The thing is it is such a dramatic change if I let the benchmark run its course on photoshop by the time it was done leopard would be released.
     
  6. MRU
    macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #6
    That's because the Hard Drives have SERIOUS slow issues on XP at the moment with the Mac Pro.

    Soon as Apple sort this out you will be fine.
     
  7. Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #7
    Thought the "slipstream the Intel SATA drivers in the install media" workaround was giving people what they needed for now...

    B
     
  8. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    #8
    I havent tried the SATA work around yet but am going to when I can set aside the time to do that as it requires making your own boot cd and reinstalling windoze. I thought people were saying that photoshop was running faster in windoze with bootcamp as opossed to using rosetta to run it in osx
     
  9. Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #9
    It does. Just not on Mac Pros (yet). :p

    B
     

Share This Page