Photoshop Serial Problem

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by iMatt mini, Aug 31, 2005.

  1. iMatt mini macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Location:
    Central New Jersey
    #1
    Ok, so I didn't want to buy CS2 when it came out, too expensive, but I did want to buy a legal version of Photoshop cheap. So I looked around ebay and pricegrabber and found out that oxzee.com was selling Photoshop 7.0 for $99. OEM. I bought it and got it and it wasn't a copied CD or anything, everything was legit. I'm looking to buying CS2/CS3 whenever it comes out for my Mac however. I've heard stories how people get the upgrade price but on a different OS. However, I need to know how legit my serial code is. I think it is, but you never know. I don't want to call and ask because I don't want any problems if it isn't Okay. Oxzee claims it is okay but, you never know.
    Is there anyway I can find out without calling Adobe?
     
  2. clayj macrumors 604

    clayj

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Location:
    visiting from downstream
    #2
    No, you're going to have to call Adobe. If you purchase an upgrade version of Photoshop CS2, to activate it, you have to CALL Adobe. Only full-price versions can be activated without calling them. I've already looked into this myself... and I ended up buying Photoshop Elements, which has no such restrictions.
     
  3. bousozoku Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #3
    The serial code is most likely fine, but the package was part of a bundle, such as a scanner, so it's not really a proper deal, but then, you knew that when you paid $600 fewer for it than retail.
     
  4. cleo macrumors 65816

    cleo

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Location:
    Tampa Bay Area, FL, USA
    #4
    Just to clarify, you do NOT have to call Adobe to "activate" an upgrade to CS2. I had 7.0 (educational), purchased the CS2 upgrade through Adobe's online store, downloaded it, and was ready to roll in 10 minutes -- no phone call necessary.
     
  5. iMatt mini thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Location:
    Central New Jersey
    #5
    I was using Elements the other day, wasn't too bad but didn't use it too much, so what are the main differences. I noticed the tools panel look was different(placement of buttons) and there was no slice tool, but what else? There must be more since it's a lot cheaper.
     
  6. bousozoku Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #6
    No CMYK or Lab Color.

    Cleo:

    That's scary that it works.
     
  7. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #7
    Two things that I've actually wanted and haven't been able to use recently are a channel mixer (at least, it doesn't have one in a straightforward sense, although you can get by pretty well with color variations + remove color) and scripting (so that you can use Automator, which works with CS2 but not PSE3).
     
  8. clayj macrumors 604

    clayj

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Location:
    visiting from downstream
    #8
    Perhaps it's different when you buy the software through their online store... but the Adobe rep I spoke to said that a phone call to Adobe would be necessary if I went to Best Buy or CompUSA and bought an upgrade version of CS2 and installed it.
     

Share This Page