Picked up a new hd and am having problems with my PB recognizing it

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by Juventuz, Jul 2, 2003.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    Juventuz

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Location:
    Binghamton
    #1
    I got a 120gig Maxtor HD and have installed it in an external Firewire case that is conected to my comp. When I plug it in and turn it on my computer recognizes it and asked if I want to initialize it. I click yes and Disk Utility opens up. I go to partition and click on partition.

    It goes to partition and says "Preparing drive ... unmounting old volumes". It stays on it for a long time and nothing happens. Am I doing something wrong or should I be doing something else?

    Any help appreciated
     
  2. macrumors 604

    iJon

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    #2
    open up disc utility. click on yoru hard drive in the left frame. then click on erase. volume format to hfs+ and you do not need mac os 9 drivers im assuming. give it a creative name and click erase. see what that does for you.

    iJon
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Juventuz

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Location:
    Binghamton
    #3
    Nothing :(

    I'm all out of ideas. Is partitioning a drive supposed to take a long time?
     
  4. macrumors 604

    iJon

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    #4
    shouldnt but i never partition. im out of ideas too. just wait and some more people will come along. we have a smart bunch here.

    iJon
     
  5. macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #5
    The zeroing data option for the HD will take forever...
     
  6. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Juventuz

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Location:
    Binghamton
    #6
    I didn't click it. I had it sit over 2 hours and there was no movement in the bar. It looked as if nothing was happening.
     
  7. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2003
    #7
    Boot in OS 9 and it will initialize. I had the same problem in OS X.






    Fist time poster
     
  8. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Juventuz

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Location:
    Binghamton
    #8
    THANK YOU!!!!! :D:D:D

    I booted up OS 9 and it saw the HD instantly. It initialized and now it's recognized in Jaguar too. Thank you very much.

    woo hoo
     
  9. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
    #9
    Boot with 10.2. Installation CD-ROM

    First I used the solution with booting in OS 9. This way it was the first time I could see my new LaCie FW800 drive. But I wanted to have several partitions and not the Mac Standard file system, but the extended version (on the one standard partition created in classic a 16KB file became 2.5 MB!). I tried to create the partitions in classic (with Disk Utility from 9.2.2. Installation CD-ROM), but with no success. And still the same problem with Apple´s Drive Utility in 10.2.8. But I found an easy solution:

    I booted from the 10.2 installation CD-ROM and chose the Drive Utiltity after the language dialogue from the menu. There I could create all partitions I wanted to have.

    Hope this helps somebody!
     

Share This Page