Picked up the macbook..but...

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by starstreak, Apr 29, 2006.

  1. starstreak macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    #1
    OK, I was down at the apple store delling over cost and things and I ended up walking out with the MacBook Pro 15in w/2.0Ghz,2gigs ram,100gb HD,etc.

    Starters- The screen is WAY better than the display models. Blacks are dark, and it seems bright enough. Text are clearer. But my own preference, I still like those glossy screens (pls, dont comment on that).

    Now I was doing the normal updates on the mac, and thats when I noticed my first problem. my 100GB from the factory is 74gb free. Which is good if this was only going to be an apple computer. But I was going to add Windows to this. I was going to do a 30/70 split harddrive split. But it seems apple to begin with lost 25gb. which if I do what I wanted would leave like 5gb free for the apple. So thats out. Please see my other post on how to help me remove stuff.
    So I'm probably gonna do a 40/60 split.

    Note: Anybody playing World of Warcraft? I did install it on the Mac side for now (i'm at work so I didnt do the windows install yet) and I noticed it pretty much doesn't do it well. At full graphics it'll stutter along at 15-20fps and in some areas it'll be normal to 50+. I would've exspected better than that, but I have to guess its because its not optimized for the Dual core.
    My question is if I install this on the windows side will I get way better response?
     
  2. Benjamindaines macrumors 68030

    Benjamindaines

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Location:
    A religiously oppressed state
    #2
    Congrats on the new MacBook Pro. The drive space is missing because that is where the OS is installed, you can free up some space by removing things that you wont be needing (like GarageBand, iMovie and anything like that that you wont need). Anything you remove can be put back via the restore discs and Pacifist.

    --Cheers.

    PS: I hear that the 3D graphics under BootCamp aren't all that great, but Apple will probably improve that when they release an update for BC.
     
  3. calebjohnston macrumors 68000

    calebjohnston

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    #3
    OS X has a lot of pre-installed stuff. Remove what you don't need and you'll get your space back. Garageband + it's themes are huge together, as is iDVD and it's themes.

    iLife '06 in general is massive.
     
  4. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #4
    Delocalizer or Monolingual will get you rback 1 Gb of foreign language resources.
     
  5. 2ndPath macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    #5
    If I remember correctly, the iWork demo also occupied a couple of Giga bytes. Also not all of the files are removed if the application is removed. Some of the files are in the Library folder on the hard disc. Spotlight helps to find them.
     
  6. starstreak thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    #6
    Thanks for the ideas! I'm hoping the pc side works well. From on of the reviews I read for the macbook, it did really well with stuff like 3dmark. better than my old pc notebook (not the xps2 listed below) and that old pc notebook would runn 1280x800 at full stats and ran like butter. Hoping this carries over to wow..

    At work now so I'm just staring at the mac side. (waiting for mac work software to be installed)
     
  7. starstreak thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    #7
    ok, I don't need to remove things on the mac work computers so thats all new to me. Once I remove something like iworks/ilife whatever. How do I know what libraries to remove? As in how do I know what pertains to iworks and not a dual file that iworks uses and maybe the osx uses? Am I thinking too PC?
     
  8. nylon macrumors 6502a

    nylon

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2004
    #8
    I always do a clean install on a new machine to get rid of all the demo applications and the extra printer drivers. I reccomend you do the same.
     
  9. starstreak thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    #9
    another thing I noticed is idling, the mac is very hot. I would figure it would be like the sony I had with the dualcore. When not in use, it would trottle down. But I swear, I could almost burn my hand touching the metal part above the f5-f10 keys, and the left speaker and palm rest gets very warm. Do I have something not set? btw, I dont hear the fan on, but here at work, I can hear the building a/c pretty loud.
     
  10. Paragon macrumors member

    Paragon

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2006
    #10
    Some people have previously said that leaving their MBPs asleep for 5(ish) minutes every hour or two gets the machine nice and cool again; worth a try if it's an issue for you? :)

    I find it amusing that you were delling over a MBP :p
     
  11. m-dogg macrumors 65816

    m-dogg

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Location:
    Connecticut
    #11
    Nice! I just ran Monolingual and freed up ~1.3GB...and that was keeping English, French, Spanish, German & Italian on it! My PB is happy!
     
  12. starstreak thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    #12
    paragon- heh. If I buy the mac, work will give me a little$$ for it. But I use pc alot. So if I can get world of warcraft to play I would be happy. But for some reason, I'm only getting on average 12-22fps not including the random 30-55+fps for being in a room. This is on the mac side. I'm praying that the windows side will work alot better.
     
  13. ravenvii macrumors 604

    ravenvii

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    Location:
    Melenkurion Skyweir
    #13
    Seconded.

    Some people cringe at the idea of a format/reinstall, but I really don't see the big deal.
     
  14. starstreak thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    #14
    well I suppose I can do a format now since its still new.
    btw, yeah standby works to cool down the mac. I wish apple would get the throttling features of the cpu to work better.
     
  15. thegreatluke macrumors 6502a

    thegreatluke

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Location:
    Earth
    #15
    You probably don't have the Universal Binary patch. According to the Universal Binary games list, you need to install it via the Blizzard Installer. :)

    Edit: If you don't know what a Universal Binary is, read this article. A non-Universal application runs under Rosetta.
     
  16. starstreak thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    #16
    thanks for the info. my wow app is universal. so I guess the slowness is from somewhere else? Or its just slow. Can anybody else with a mcbook confirm speed?
     

Share This Page