Picking up a Power Mac (very n00bish question)

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by Cam42, Jun 28, 2009.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    #1
    Okay, my friend is giving me an older powermac, although I'm not sure which model it is.
    This will be my first Mac, wondering if it's possible at all to replace the motherboard with something that'll support an intel processor? Like a Core2duo? and still be able to run OSX? Sorry if I'm overlooking something completely stupid, but I'm new to Apple computers
     
  2. Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Missouri
    #2
    No, not really. You'd have to replace pretty much every component in order to get an Intel chip in there.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    #3
    Okay, I looked at another thread and noticed the differences on the insides. heh.
    How up-to-date could this machine get? I read that snow leopard isn't going to support the PPC architecture, but what will?
     
  4. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    #4
    Leopard supports pre intel processors. Snow Leopard will not.
     
  5. macrumors 65816

    300D

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Location:
    Tulsa
    #5
    You're stuck with 10.4 or 10.5 no matter what you upgrade to.
     
  6. Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Missouri
    #6
    I think you mean 10.4 or 10.5 ...
     
  7. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    #7
    I think it's a G4 model.
    Does anyone know if it uses IDE or SATA drives?
     
  8. macrumors 68020

    Shake 'n' Bake

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Location:
    Albany
    #8
    IDE. Max 500 GB.

    I've got a "Digital Audio" Power Mac and I've done a fair bit of poking around in it.

    RAM is SDRAM, I've popped in some DDR2 (a type of SDRAM), and that works fine.
     
  9. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    #9
    Although I'm very new to Macs, I am nowhere near unexperienced in hardware and taking apart/putting together computers. I'll probably max this thing out (hardware wise) in a few days.
     
  10. macrumors 65816

    Dr.Pants

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    #10
    Well, good luck to you, mate. There's a bunch of PowerMac upgrades, but a lot of them are really picky. A lot of upgrades require compliance in hardware.

    The best thing you can do is start with your model identifier, and go from there. :apple: to "About this Mac" to "More Info" and "model identifier" should be on the first page you see. Then using MacTracker, you can probably figure out the actual model name (Yikes, MDD, etc).
     
  11. macrumors 68020

    Shake 'n' Bake

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Location:
    Albany
    #11
    I should probably revise my last statement. The maximum size for an IDE HDD is 500 GB.

    The maximum drive size in any PowerMac before the Quicksilver 2002 is 128 GB. You can get around this by getting a new ATA controller. If it is a white/silver, then it is a QS, but not necessarily a QS 2002. Anything that is blue, is before the QS. Find your model identifier and use MacTracker to figure out what you've got.
     
  12. macrumors 6502

    ian.maffett

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Location:
    Florida
    #12
    Give Mac Tracker a shot - it'll certainly shed some light on what you have and what you can do with it.

    http://mactracker.dreamhosters.com/

    As for upgrades, you're pretty limited - it's not like a PC... not at all. :0)
     
  13. macrumors 6502

    lannister80

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    #13
    I have an MDD G4 and I have a 750GB IDE drive in there, along with a 500GB and a 320GB. Makes a great server for media/DNS/a few other random things.
     
  14. macrumors 68020

    Shake 'n' Bake

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Location:
    Albany
    #14
    Where'd you get that HDD?
     

Share This Page