pics of my new Mac Pro are up... X1900XT, RAID and all..

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by UnixMac, Sep 7, 2006.

  1. UnixMac macrumors 6502

    UnixMac

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2002
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #1
    Took all day to set it up, and re-format the Raptor for OS, shift drives around, add 2 512's, create a RAID0, migrate all my crap from the G5.. but it was worth it!

    Learned a lot today on how to do it.. anyone wants tips, I'm full of wisdom!

    http://web.mac.com/sjsamaha/iWeb/Site/Mac Family.html
     
  2. Fuzzy Orange macrumors 6502

    Fuzzy Orange

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2006
  3. UnixMac thread starter macrumors 6502

    UnixMac

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2002
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #3
    They're addicting unfortunately.. ;)
     
  4. kered22 macrumors 6502

    kered22

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Location:
    Torrance, CA
    #4
    Beautiful setup. :) It ain't fair you ordered the same day as me. :( LOL
     
  5. AJ Muni macrumors 65816

    AJ Muni

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Location:
    Miami
    #5
    WOW thats a real nice setup..did it all arrive on the same day?
     
  6. pknz macrumors 68020

    pknz

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2005
    Location:
    NZ
  7. kered22 macrumors 6502

    kered22

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Location:
    Torrance, CA
    #8
    Hey UnixMac, on those two 500GB drives, it looks like there is some kind of big Apple logo on them in. Is that a sticker of some kind? It's in that pic labelled "1 is a Raptor, 2 is a 250GB, 3&4 are 500’s set in a RAID".
     
  8. ^squirrel^ macrumors 6502a

    ^squirrel^

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #9
    Now thats what you call a premium setup!!!!!

    What size is the smaller ACD?
     
  9. NATO macrumors 68000

    NATO

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Location:
    Northern Ireland
    #10
    That'll be a drive supplied by Apple, my Western Digital drive has the same Apple logo on it, it's put there by Western Digital before they ship the drives to Apple who put them in the machines.
     
  10. QCassidy352 macrumors G3

    QCassidy352

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #11
    ridiculously amazing setup! FYI, your page doesn't work in camino (can't start slideshow or see big versions of pics, some text is grey on grey). Is that true of all .mac pages?
     
  11. kered22 macrumors 6502

    kered22

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Location:
    Torrance, CA
    #12
    Yeah I posted the same question over at the macnn forums, UnixMac just stuck the two Apple sitckers that come with the MacPro on the drives. :D When I first saw that, I was like "whoah, that's some really interesting OEM labelling Apples doing now". LOL
     
  12. kered22 macrumors 6502

    kered22

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Location:
    Torrance, CA
    #13
    Hmm.. works fine for me in Camino, what version are you running? I'm running the 1.0.2 UB on a Core Duo Mini.
     
  13. Fearless Leader macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2006
    Location:
    Hoosiertown
    #15
    wow.
    how can you afford that. why do you need so much apple goodness? Thats a pretty sick set up.
     
  14. Jamesw macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2006
    #16
    Are you willing to adopt? PM if you are :D . I see you have the 30" there but the other one, tis a 20" or a 23"? Thanks. James.
     
  15. UnixMac thread starter macrumors 6502

    UnixMac

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2002
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #17
    AJ: No, I got the Monitor almost right away, the HD's and OWC RAM after two days, and the Pro in 3 weeks..

    Kered22: Those are my two "Freebie" Apple stickers.. Had to find a spot for them! :D

    ^squrril^: the "smaller" one is a 23"

    NATO: I didn't know WD did that.. cool.. As I said above however, mine are added by me, those are 500GB Hitatchi/IBM Deskstars (16MB Buffer) that I got form OWC.

    QCassidy352: I use Safari and Firefox only.. works fine, try this link: http://web.mac.com/sjsamaha/iWeb/Site/Mac Family.html

    Rokem: I can't! :D No seriously, I get a good tax break for my wife being a part time pro-photographer, and in my income bracket the 5 year depreciation helps a good bit at tax time. ;)

    Jamesw.. I've got a 5 and 3 year old.. you'd have to baby sit all the time! ;)
     

Share This Page