Pics: Upgrade to 2 Gig RAM (533mhz) in Mac Mini Intel SUCCSFULL!

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by mikedavid00, Apr 23, 2006.

  1. mikedavid00 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    #1
    Hi!

    Well I installed the RAM and this mac is so much better now. I got the RAM at TigerDirect in Canada and each 1 gig stick was $100. So hey, I got two of them.

    I now have 2 gigs of RAM and do not see or feel any difference using PC4200 w/ 533MHZ. I can confirm this does work.

    Anyone wanna run some bench marks so we can compare my performance loss using (PC4200)?

    I'm waging that they'll be almost neglegable.

    Here's some pics I took:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  2. AlBDamned macrumors 68030

    AlBDamned

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    #2
    Can you put the link up for the original thread where this was talked about? At the moment it's apropo to nothing. ;)
     
  3. andiwm2003 macrumors 601

    andiwm2003

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #3
    so you paid $200 for slow ram? and you had to install it yourself?

    wouldn't it be much better to pay the $300 for the original apple upgrade?

    it's the faster ram, you don't have to install it yourself and most importantly it doesn't void the warranty.

    although in theory upgrading the ram doesn't void the warranty if you screw something up in the process you lose the warranty. and if you have problems later apple will not check you machine before you remove all third party ram. so you have to go through all the trouble again. that's not worth saving $100.
     
  4. mikedavid00 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    #4
    It's right here:

    533MHZ RAM upgrade for new Inet Mac Mini?

    man my system just doens't swap now.. very happy with this upgrade.
     
  5. cb911 macrumors 601

    cb911

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2002
    Location:
    BrisVegas, Australia
  6. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #6
    Well, you're overclocking that RAM, so make sure your data is backed up, if it decides not to take it any longer. That's outside of my risk tolerance emvelope to be sure.
     
  7. jamesi macrumors 6502a

    jamesi

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2005
    Location:
    Davis CA
    #7
    good upgrade, and to the person above who says it was dumb i give the wag of the finger. dont be a tool and buy overpriced ram from apple. i worked alot with pcs over the years and i love saving money when possible
     
  8. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #8
    The point is not buying Apple RAM vs. some other -- but intentionally fitting RAM that is under-specification and hoping that it works.
     
  9. generik macrumors 601

    generik

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    Location:
    Minitrue
    #9
    Actually those rams are not overclocked at all, in system profiler it just shows the memory bus running at the slower speed.
     
  10. mikedavid00 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    #10
    Dude,

    It IS working. And my system flys now like it should be. IFilm HD was fast fast..

    Here is a screen to show you it's working:

    [​IMG]
     
  11. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #11
    Good luck with it, I hope it continues working well for you.
     
  12. bobber205 macrumors 68020

    bobber205

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Location:
    Oregon
    #12
    <off-topic>
    How did you take the pictures with both of yours hands in the picture? ;)
    </off-topic>

    :cool:
     
  13. cb911 macrumors 601

    cb911

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2002
    Location:
    BrisVegas, Australia
    #13
    <off-topic>
    ROFFLE!!! :D
    must be the new Apple HardHat with iSight built-in.
    </off-topic>

    :D :p
     
  14. SC68Cal macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    #14
    Space based surveilance
     
  15. mikedavid00 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    #15
    Hehe.. my brother took those pics
     
  16. laidbackliam macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    #16
    iFilm?

    you mean, iMovie?
     
  17. topgunn macrumors 65816

    topgunn

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2004
    Location:
    Texas
    #17
    Your page-outs to page-ins ratio seems high.
     
  18. iamhammill macrumors 6502

    iamhammill

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Location:
    York, PA
    #18
    Sorry to threadjack, but what exactly is the page-in to page-out ratio all about?

    Mine is almost 4x as high!

    ram.jpg
     
  19. cb911 macrumors 601

    cb911

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2002
    Location:
    BrisVegas, Australia
    #19
    don't Page Outs mean that you've run out of RAM and instead of using RAM it's using temporary space on the hard disk (resulting in severe slowdown)?

    I'm not sure what Page Ins are - but it's the page outs that you really don't want to be happening.
     

Share This Page