PIII Question

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by rickvanr, Apr 3, 2005.

  1. macrumors 68040

    rickvanr

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2002
    Location:
    Brockville
    #1
    Hello,

    I'm thinking of trading my old powermac for an old pentium. It's a PIII 1GHz, all I'm going to be using it for is capturing video, much like a Tivo.

    Now, maybe someone has had experience, and will know what I need to know. I need to know is will a PIII 1GHz be able to handle capturing video off of cable (and maybe satellite) and how well will it play divx avi's full screen.

    Thanks.
     
  2. macrumors 68000

    varmit

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    #2
    If you want to make it just a PVR, here is your site with all the info you need: http://www.mythtv.org/modules.php?name=MythFeatures

    But your Pentium system will only be able to do so much, so it might not be the best recording device you can get (read myth's system requirements, and this is just for a computer to act as a PVR, not run a full OS and do other stuff too). With a newer system from Dell for probably the same price you can get twice the quality in video.
     
  3. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    Tacoma, WA
    #3
    I have a P3 1.2 GHz IBM thinkpad that runs fast as hell most of the time. Live video takes alot of other requirements tho, check into the video card, ram, etc first.

    BEN
     
  4. thread starter macrumors 68040

    rickvanr

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2002
    Location:
    Brockville
    #4
    It has a GB of RAM
    the video card isn't the best, but I was going to get a GForce FX 5200 128MB and then this capture card Capture Card, or one like it.

    would this work? could at capture high quality video? I have normal cable, and would like to be able to capture at a level so that I see no difference between watching off the tv, or the computer, which will be plugged into the tv.
     
  5. 7on
    macrumors 601

    7on

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2003
    Location:
    Dress Rosa
    #5
    should be fine. I ran a PIII 800Mhz as my main machine for a while.
     

Share This Page