Piii Vs G4

Discussion in 'Games' started by AdamR01, Feb 2, 2003.

1. AdamR01 macrumors 6502

Hello,
    I'm new to the mac world and I am considering buying a 12" PowerBook. I am not a hardcore gamer but I do enjoy playing some games (Unreal Tournament, Starcraft, Deus Ex, Heroes of Might and Magic). I am just wondering if the performance of the laptop will be ok for me. I am currently using a PIII 1GHz with 384mb of ram and a GeForce4MX 440. How do you think the performance would compare?

2. Chaszmyr macrumors 601

Chaszmyr

An 867mhz G4 will smoke a 1ghz P3 any day of the week.

3. AdamR01 thread starter macrumors 6502

Thats good to know. So what clockspeed would a PIII or P4 have to be to have the same speed as an 867MHz G4?

4. hvfsl macrumors 68000

hvfsl

The 12in PowerBook is faster than most P4/P3 laptops in games. I got a 15in TiBook becuase of this. The 12in PowerBook should be faster than the fastest P3 (which goes to 1.5Ghz)

However I would say that the TiBook is the best to get because of the faster graphics card. The graphics card in the TiBook is up to twice as fast as the graphics in the 17in/12in Powerbooks in games like Doom 3/UT 2003.

Search the internet for Quake 3 scores on Apple's and PCs and you will be able to see how good the computer you want to get is at playing games vs PCs. Anything above 30 frames pe second is perfectly playable.

Lastly I play all of those games on my laptop and it is a year old so any moden Apple laptop will be able to play them with ease.

5. AdamR01 thread starter macrumors 6502

Will the fact that the 15" doesnt have DDR ram matter any?

6. Freg3000 macrumors 68000

Freg3000

Everyone will tell you something different. If they like Macs they'll tell you a P4 3.06 GHz. If they don't, they'll say a P3 1.2 GHz. It all depends on what the person's bias is.